I've noticed that under Wild Shape it states that all shapes are heightened unless stated otherwise meaning that only the largest size is available.
Does this mean that the player states it, or it has to be stated in the spell rules/description?
If it means it must stated in the spell rules/description, I'd like to make just a simple suggestion: Allow wild shape druids to choose if it is heightened or not. The spell fails if there isn't enough room, and being a master of shape shifting, even at low level should allow for a choice in size within the given parameters of the spell(form).
If it is already a choice, then, obviously, disregard.
This is my only suggestion at this time. I do, however, feel that some serious tweaking needs to take place in order to make wild druids more viable at both low levels and at higher levels. I defer to and support the more detailed and better written posts describing suggestions concerning these issues.