P=NP?'s page

26 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




The core rule book reads "if you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon
as a free action combined with a regular move' {p.187}. What is meant by regular move? One of the players in my campaign believes that he can draw a weapon as part of a full attack action as a free action. I believe that move means movement as in walking, running, flying, or charging, and the only way to draw a weapon and get more than one attack is with the quick draw feat.
Also, can a character normally draw a weapon as a free action and as part of a regular move while swimming or climbing? Finally, is a 5-foot step and actions that are considered a 5-foot
step {such as step up p.135 core} considered a regular move for purposes of drawing a weapon as
a free action?


The wish spell reads "inherent bonuses to a particular score do not stack" {core p.370}. Does
this apply also to the Manuals and Tomes [core p.522, 531} that grant inherent bonuses? In other words, could I use a Tome of Understanding {+2} to gain a +2 to Wisdom one day use another
Tome of Understanding {+1} or wish spell to add an additional +1 to my Wisdom for a total of
inherent bonus of +3 overall? Also with wish, can someone use it to get a +1 in an ability
score one week and then at a later time use another Wish to add another +1 to the same ability
score for a total of +2 over all?


If someone acts during the surprise round, are they still considered flat-footed when the
regular rounds begin?


Even if a creature\PC with the scent ability pinpoints the square an invisible is in, does the invisible creature still benefit from total concealment against attacks from the creature with scent?


Can a monk or anyone with improved unarmed strike use the improved natural attack feat

[Bestiary 1 p.315] with their improved unarmed strike? Under 3.5 rules this was allowed but,

I am unsure with Pathfinder rules


I know that using a supernatural ability does not provoke an attack of opportunity. But. what

if the action of the ability usually does provoke? For example, most of the Arcanist's exploits

are supernatural abilities [ACG pp9-12] that should not provoke an AOO when used. But, some of

them when used require a ranged touch attack, and one Force Strike. Is a ranged attack, even

though it automatically strikes, [according to the rulebook], both a ranged and ranged touch

attack and does it provoke AOO [p183]? So while using the exoloits [su] does not provoke, does

making the ranged or ranged touch attack they grant provoke an AOO.


can a medium character wield a large two-handed weapon? one of my players says yes with a

-2 penalty. I say no due to it being "altered by one step for each size category of difference

between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed"

because, if a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light one-handed,

or two-handed. by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all. {core p.144}.

Who is correct?


can you an extraordinary, spell-like, or supernatural ability to make an attack of opportunity?

the core rule book reads that "an attack of opportunity is a single melee attack", and some

of the granted powers of clerical domains read "melee touch attacks"[artificers tOUCH (SP) P41]

single melee attack [destructive aura {su} p43],ect., so can they be used to make an AOO>


for the purpose of gentle rest, (sp) (core p.46) what is considered a living creature that is affected by this power? are constructs, oozes, elementals effected by this power? how about
incorporeal creatures? how about incorporeal undead seeing as how undead are effected more
by this power.


if my cleric is invisible, as per the spell, and he channels positive energy to harm undead
is that considered an attack which would end the spell?


when using acrobatics to move foes with out provoking an attack of opportunity, can you do

so while going around a corner or down a hall and thru a doorway? does acrobatics have

to be used in a straight line.


mummy rot is listed as a curse and a disease. [Bestiary 1}. so would it affect a monk? the

monk's purity of body {core p. 59} states that a monk is immune to all disease even

supernatural ones. I ask because the paladin's divine health {core p. 61} reads almost the same

but specifically mentions "including mummy rot", while the monk's purity of body does not.


can step up {core p135}, Following step {APG p160} or step up and strike {APG p170}

be used in difficult terrain or when movement is hampered? why or why not?


can step up {core p135}, Following step {APG p160} or step up and strike {APG p170}

be used in difficult terrain or when movement is hampered? why or why not?


Can the collar of the true companion (p.257 ultimate equipment) be used on a familiar or an
animal companion? The description for the collar states in part, "the creature is raised to
human like sentience as though by the awaken spell" However, the awaken spell (p.246 core)reads,
an awakened animal can't serve as an animal companion, familiar, or special mount. Using the
collar seems like an end run around this rule. So can it be used on a familiar, animal companion, or special mount, and if so can they still serve in that capacity.


It appears that the Magus spellstrike (p-10,UM) is a supernatural ability, and not subject to attacks of opportunity. Can the act of casting the touch spell when used in concert with the spellstrike still produce attacks of opportunity.


if a rogue gets more than one attack per round due to BAB bonus, being hassled etc.
and she meets the requirements for a sneak attack, do all the attacks qualify as sneak attacks.

In short, can a rogue have more than one sneak attack per round.


Does spell resistance aplly against an Arcanist's (ACG) supernatural (su) exploits? Do they
bypass the "immunity to magic" feature of golems? Supernatural features normally do,but one of the Arcanist exploits force strike (pg 11ACG) reads "spells and effects that negate magic missles also negate this effect" which is contray to the normal rules regarding supernatural abilities.


new member Does the -4 penalty for shouting/firing into melee apply to ranged touch attacks? Does it apply to spells that require a ranged attack roll to hit when fired into melee?