Magus spellstrike-AOO or not?


Rules Questions


It appears that the Magus spellstrike (p-10,UM) is a supernatural ability, and not subject to attacks of opportunity. Can the act of casting the touch spell when used in concert with the spellstrike still produce attacks of opportunity.


You still have to cast a spell, which can provoke if you don't cast defensively. Spellstrike only changes how you deliver the spell.

(Core Rulebook 185) wrote:
Other than deploying the spell with a melee weapon attack instead of a melee touch attack, the magus spellstrike ability doesn’t change the normal rules for using touch spells in combat.


This does mean you may want to cast defensively a lot. Various options can help with that and minimize your risk.


It's why the class gets bonus abilities to cast defensively.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

To clarify the above. Using spellstrike with a spell you have cast is a supernatural ability and doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity.

Casting the spell in the first place provokes as normal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus spellstrike-AOO or not? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.