Simple enough but with no clear answer in the books, errata or anywhere else that i can find. When your patron grants you a knew spell what spell level can you prepare it at?
At 1st level, when a witch gains her familiar, she must also select a patron. This patron is a vague and mysterious force, granting the witch power for reasons that she might not entirely understand. While these forces need not be named, they typically hold influence over one of the following forces. At 2nd level, and every two levels thereafter, a witch's patron adds new spells to a witch's list of spells known. These spells are also automatically added to the list of spells stored by the familiar. Spells marked with an asterisk (*) appear in Chapter 5 of this book. The spells gained depend upon the patron chosen. Each patron is listed by its theme. Its actual name is up to the GM and the witch to decide.
So here is my interpretation of the way this works. There are exactly 9 spells in each patron given at every 2 levels starting at 2nd. So just counting up from the bottom as 1st, 2nd, 3rd level spells. Example is Ice Storm from winter patron is a level 4 witch spell. Its the third one on the list means i can cast it as a 3rd level spell. Shadow conjuration from the shadow patron I get at level 8 but isnt actually on my spell list so it doesnt tell me what level I can prepare it so going by my conclusion RaI its a 4th level spell for being 4th on the list or 1/2 the level i learned it at. Am i right on this assumption?