Catoblepas

Nefrubyr's page

170 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




With all the excitement about the Wrath previews going on, I'd just like to point out that the Monk class deck quietly became available for preorder over the weekend :-)


I just noticed that the Glibness spell in the bard class deck (I haven't checked the other class decks or S&S) doesn't include the text telling you to banish it if you don't have the Arcane or Divine skill.


I can see two ways to read the barrier Storm: the pedantic way, and the intuitive way.

Reading it the pedantic way, it only affects the character who encountered it. I came to this conclusion based partly on the discussion about Jolly Roger, which only benefits the character who plays it, and partly on the fact that other displayed/task barriers exist that refer to "characters at this location" or similar. Storm, on the other hand, is displayed by a location but only affects "you". By the letter of the rules, this seems to be the right way to play it.

The intuitive way to interpret it is that it affects any character at its location, because it's a storm so how could it only affect one person? Perhaps I should call this the thematic way. But the only arguments I can see to support this interpretation are theme, and the fact that the card is displayed in a "shared" location as opposed to next to a character (an argument which failed to work for Jolly Roger).

So... how are people playing Storm?


This curious interaction came up in my game yesterday:

Wrathack wrote:
When you defeat (□ or another character at your location defeats) a monster, you may examine the bottom card (□ or bottom 2 cards) of its location deck
Crab Swarm wrote:
Each character at your location must summon and encounter the Crab Swarm

Another character at Wrathack's location explores and encounters a Crab Swarm. Wrathack summons and encounters the swarm, which she defeats.

Now... does she look at the bottom of the location deck, or did the "summoned" Crab Swarm not come from a location deck?

Same question would arise at the Garrison, where characters must summon and encounter a monster already present.