Morpheus1's page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


I was wondering your opinion on how a certain feature of the Eldritch Guardian archetype for fighters that gives them a familiar works. Specifically it gives their familiar all the combat feats they learn so I wondered if that would mean a monkey familiar who got a exotic weapon proficiency from this could now use that weapon?


One of my players is taking the eldritch guardian archetype for fighter gaining a familiar and one of this archetypes features also gives the familiar all combat feats the fighter takes even if the familiar does not meet the feat’s prerequisites. They are also planing to have the familiar take the mauler archetype. I know the familiar does not gain the fighters staring proficiency as those are class features not feats but if the fighter picks a exotic weapon proficiency feat the animal would have that. I know most animals like a pig and such could not use the proficiency since they lack hand and such but what about animals like the monkey who have hands. Just going by the organized play FAQ for familiars I would say no but something in the animal companion section makes me think maybe. The homunculus companion granted by the promethean alchemist archetype gains weapon proficiency as described in the archetype and so can use weapons. Both a monkey and homunculus are in the biped with hands section so do you think all biped with hands could use a weapon it has a proficiency with if they acquire it from a archetype feature? Beyond that should any familiar that can grasp/carry a weapon be allowed to use a weapon it has proficiency with if they acquire it from a archetype feature?