| Mike Wayne |
I played #3-06 Song of the Sea Witch last night and died. I'm not sure I should have.
Scenario spoiler:
The witch/boss grappled me right at the altar. CRB says that he should only be able to move at half speed with me grappled, so, assuming standard movement speed, it should have taken three rounds for him to get me into the water, not one, correct?
The GM ruled that since I was grappled, I only had two rounds to attempt to escape, then I died.
The witch/boss grappled me right at the altar. CRB says that he should only be able to move at half speed with me grappled, so, assuming standard movement speed, it should have taken three rounds for him to get me into the water, not one, correct?
Once we were in the water, he sunk down to the floor. Reading the rules for swim and underwater combat, my understanding is:
- I should have <CON> (in my case 14) rounds to use my escape artist skill against his grapple at a -2 penalty (due to being underwater) while my party members attempt to kill him.
- After <CON> rounds, I need to make a DC 10 (+1 per attempt) Constitution check. If I succeed, I can continue to attempt to escape.
- Once I fail the saving throw, on my next round, my hit points go to 0.
- On the next round, I die.
The GM ruled that since I was grappled, I only had two rounds to attempt to escape, then I died.
Prior to leaving town, I had purchased some Air Crystals.
PFSFG wrote:
A pouch of air crystals provides 1 minute of breathable air. Placing air crystals in your mouth takes a standard action; chewing them each round is a free action.From reading net commentary, I had understood that the correct way to use these is:
- Put crystals in your mouth.
- If I get my head above the water within <CON> rounds, which I did, and do not speak, I did not need to chew them and they remain in my mouth for future use.
- If I am still underwater after <CON> rounds, I chew for one round, providing air.
- If I get out of the water withing the next <CON> rounds, as long as I do not speak or chew them, they remain in my mouth for use for however many rounds are unused. This point, while raised a number of times, seems ambiguous.