| MATMATMAT! |
Hello everyone.
My questions are
0) Do you think that the Faq of the magus b. blade works with the blade adept's one, even if the two features are slightly different?
1) Does a Blade Adept's Black Blade still count as a bonded object after hits third level?
2) If answer to num. 1 is "yes" which rule does apply? It is treated as a bonded object or as a black blade or both?
3) If the answer to num. 2 is "it's treated as both bonded object and black blade" how would you rule it? What happens if the weapon is lost, destroyed or whatever?
4) If the Black blade ceases to be treated as your bonded object after level 3, can you create another bonded weapon?
5) If answer to num. 4 is "yes", can i have a bonded weapon and a black blade?
6) If another bonded weapon is created, does it "auto-awakes"?
7) If answer to num. 6 is "yes", can i have multiple black blades?
8) Why should the faq of the magus black blade overwrite the ruling for bonded objects in this case?
To me, it seems that the blade adept's class features are a bit confusing. I lean toward the interpretation that a blade adept's black blade is treated as both bonded object and black blade, and is completely different from the one granted by the bladebound magus and as such, it shouldn't fall under the same rulings. After all a magus cannot create his own black blade while the arcanist apparently can.
The Black Blade FAQ states a Magus Black Blade cannot be enchanted but a bonded object can. I read on these forums that the faq should work also for the arcanist. To me here there are two contrasting rulings for the same class feature, and there is no rule hierarchy that i am aware of, that clarifies which one should prevale, the bladebound magus FAQ on one hand and the Bonded object rules on the other.
Thanks for your attention