Lifat's page

1,360 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.




Hi all. I've been running my head against the proverbial wall in coming up with an answer to my rules question(s)...
Could I Dimension Door to the inside/other side of a Prismatic Sphere and/or wall.

Here is what I've come up with so far:

Dimension Door is Conjuration (Teleportation), meaning that teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane. Anything that blocks astral travel also blocks teleportation.

From this I infer that Dimension Door would skip into the astral plane and make you pop up in designated target area.

Prismatic Wall is an abjuration spell that is not a force effect. It does not exist in or effect the ethereal or astral plane. That means that as long as you are on the astral plane you should be able to move through the wall as though it does not exist, including all its effects that stop spells, and pop up on the other side with no issue, as far as I can tell. I'm open to be corrected if I'm wrong, but I want it to be rules based and not opinion based.

Prismatic Sphere has the same limitation as the Prismatic Wall, however Prismatic Sphere is a solid sphere and not a shell and thus also exists in the area that you would presumably want to arrive at. My question then becomes, what happens? Did the Prismatic Sphere that stops all spells prevent the reentry into the material plane from the Astral plane and thus you would get shunted to the outside of the Prismatic Sphere or did you pop up inside the sphere and now get subjected to each layer in order?

Thank you in advance.
PS. I know that there is another discussion about it but it was in 2012 and would thus be a necro. Besides, the discussion devolved into opinions that was not rooted in rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi there paizo forum. I was looking into blood intensity.

Blood Intensity:

Whenever you cast a bloodrager or sorcerer spell that deals damage, you can increase its maximum number of damage dice by an amount equal to your Strength or Charisma modifier, whichever is higher. This otherwise functions as —and does not stack with—the Intensified Spell feat. You can use this ability once per day at 3rd level and one additional time per day for every 4 caster levels you have beyond 3rd, up to five times per day at 19th level.

This ability replaces the sorcerer’s 3rd-level bloodline power or the bloodrager’s 8th-level bloodline power.

Bloodline Mutations:
Although heirs to similar arcane bloodlines may share commonalities, the unique circumstances in which a bloodline enters a bloodrager or sorcerer’s lineage can result in the manifestation of particularly strange or unusual bloodline powers known as mutations. Whenever a bloodrager or a sorcerer gains a new bloodline power, she can swap her bloodline power for a bloodline mutation whose prerequisites she meets. Once this choice is made, it cannot be changed, and a bloodrager or sorcerer cannot swap a bloodline power that she has altered or replaced with an archetype for a bloodline mutation. A bloodrager need not be in a bloodrage to use her bloodline mutation powers. Alternatively, a bloodrager or sorcerer can select a bloodline mutation in place of a bloodline bonus feat, provided her class level is at least equal to the level of the bloodline ability the mutation normally replaces.

Now I am left with a few questions about the ability:
1. According to the text it can increase maximum number of damage dice by str/cha bonus amount and otherwise works as intensify spell. Does that mean it raises spell lvl like intensify? Why or why not? I would appreciate if we try to stay RAW but a RAI post is also okay. Sources would be wonderful.
2. Can I safely assume that the text in bloodline mutations that states that you can get them for feats or bloodline arcanas stand even though the individual bloodline mutation texts only mention trading them for bloodline arcanas?


My situation is this:
I am a lvl 16 sorcerer who has magical lineage trait for fireball and spell perfection for fireball

This is what I want to do:
I want to cast an intensified, empowered, quickened fireball and then I want to use a metamagic rod of daze on it.

These are the questions I have:
I assume that since magical lineage lowers the metamagic increase by one that I can still use spell perfection to lower the quickened cost away as well despite the 9th lvl slot limitation. Is this assumption correct?

What metamagic daze rod do I need? I would assume that I would need the normal version since the spell slot used is 5th after all modifiers are in.

This faq answer at least seem to indicate that it would not be the lesser rod:

FAQ from October 2013 wrote:

Metamagic: At what spell level does the spell count for concentration DCs, magus spell recall, or a pearl of power?

The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.

For example, an empowered burning hands uses a 3rd-level spell slot, counts as a 3rd-level spell for making concentration checks, counts as a 3rd-level spell for a magus's spell recall or a pearl of power.

In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. The advantages of the metamagic feat are spelled out in the Benefits section of the feat, and the increased spell slot level is a disadvantage.

Heighten Spell is really the only metamagic feat that makes using a higher-level spell slot an advantage instead of a disadvantage.

EDIT 1: Formatting


Hi ppl.
I'm going to be a player in a Shattered Star campaign, and as such I want no spoilers on it. I'm sitting around trying to create a background story for my character but I have been unable to find out what in game year the campaign is supposed to start. Can anyone please answer that?


So I was going over a lot of item creation feats and came upon this one...
What exactly is the point of this feat outside style?
Inscribe Magical Tattoo
Now as far as I can see this feat allows you to create tattoos in specific slots on your body that stacks with any magical item(s) occupying the same slot. The price however is double normal cost for the effect, meaning that anything this feat can create could be created with craft wondrous item and making the item completely slotless... Same price, and even worse craft wondrous item allows you to add magical effects to existing magic items by increasing price of the cheapest ability with 50%, meaning CWI can do it cheaper. Create wondrous item has less entry requirements and more usability... Why would I take Inscribe Magical tattoo (disregard style)?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

FLAMING SPHERE:

Flaming Sphere
School evocation [fire]; Level druid 2, sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (tallow, brimstone, and powdered iron)
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect 5-ft.-diameter sphere
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw Reflex negates; Spell Resistance yes

A burning globe of fire rolls in whichever direction you point and burns those it strikes. It moves 30 feet per round. As part of this movement, it can ascend or jump up to 30 feet to strike a target. If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round and deals 3d6 points of fire damage to that creature, though a successful Reflex save negates that damage. A flaming sphere rolls over barriers less than 4 feet tall. It ignites flammable substances it touches and illuminates the same area as a torch would.

The sphere moves as long as you actively direct it (a move action for you); otherwise, it merely stays at rest and burns. It can be extinguished by any means that would put out a normal fire of its size. The surface of the sphere has a spongy, yielding consistency and so does not cause damage except by its flame. It cannot push aside unwilling creatures or batter down large obstacles. A flaming sphere winks out if it exceeds the spell's range.


This spell has the effect line where it says that it is a 5 ft. diameter sphere. It lacks the area heading that all area spells normally have. The descriptive text describes the spell as stopping as soon as it hits a creature and then damaging that creature.
To me the wording and headings of this spell is ambiguous at best as to whether or not it is an area spell. The descriptive text indicates that it only affects one creature even if several creatures stand in the same square. That seems at odds with the text under the "effect" header. But the effect header should have been an "area" header if it was supposed to affect an area.
So my question is... Is this an area spell? Can it affect more than 1 creature? And would it do extra damage against swarms?
I know it is a lot of work to find out exactly but the answer would be important for several spells (including ball lightning and others).


These are the monster energy drain abilities:

Universal Monster Rule:
Energy Drain (Su) This attack saps a living opponent's vital energy and happens automatically when a melee or ranged attack hits. Each successful energy drain bestows one or more negative levels (the creature's description specifies how many). If an attack that includes an energy drain scores a critical hit, it bestows twice the listed number of negative levels. Unless otherwise specified in the creature's description, a draining creature gains 5 temporary hit points for each negative level it bestows on an opponent. These temporary hit points last for a maximum of 1 hour. Negative levels remain until 24 hours have passed or until they are removed with a spell, such as restoration. If a negative level is not removed before 24 hours have passed, the affected creature must attempt a Fortitude save (DC 10 + 1/2 draining creature's racial HD + draining creature's Cha modifier; the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). On a success, the negative level goes away with no harm to the creature. On a failure, the negative level becomes permanent. A separate saving throw is required for each negative level.

Format: energy drain (2 levels, DC 18); Location: Special Attacks and individual attacks.


Bolding is mine and clearly shows that monster attacks become permanent after 24 hours (unless specified under the specific monster)

Energy Drain spell:
This spell functions like enervation, except that the creature struck gains 2d4 temporary negative levels. Twenty-four hours after gaining them, the subject must make a Fortitude saving throw (DC = energy drain spell's save DC) for each negative level. If the save succeeds, that negative level is removed. If it fails, that negative level becomes permanent.

An undead creature struck by the ray gains 2d4 × 5 temporary hit points for 1 hour.


Bolding is mine and clearly shows that the negative levels from the spell become permanent after 24 hours.

Enervation spell:
You point your finger and fire a black ray of negative energy that suppresses the life force of any living creature it strikes. You must make a ranged touch attack to hit. If you hit, the subject gains 1d4 temporary negative levels (see Special Abilities). Negative levels stack.

Assuming the subject survives, it regains lost levels after a number of hours equal to your caster level (maximum 15 hours). Usually, negative levels have a chance of becoming permanent, but the negative levels from enervation don't last long enough to do so.

An undead creature struck by the ray gains 1d4 × 5 temporary hit points for 1 hour.


Bolding is mine and heavily indicates the way it works normally.

Spoiler:
A creature with temporary negative levels receives a new saving throw to remove the negative level each day. The DC of this save is the same as the effect that caused the negative levels.

This is taken directly from the PRD glossary under Energy Drain and negative levels.
Now I do think that it is pretty clear how these things work by RAW. But that last spoiler sentence doesn't really make sense to me... Because when does it ever happen? Can you name a single thing that grants temporary negative levels that last for days?
That is the only sentence that introduces a minimal doubt about how it is supposed to be run.
I'd love some kind of clarification on this.
My hope is that the text for the monster ability energy drain was somehow messed up and that they weren't supposed to become permanent.


I know there are multiple threads on this spell and one of them is about the question that I have, but noone really proved their point (or side if you will).
I have been under the impression that Protection from alignment was a single spell when it came to wizard/sorcerer knowing the spell. But recently someone pointed out that the different alignments were seperate spells... I have been swayed to their way of thinking now but I still have doubts about what the RAW is.
So my question is quite simple:
Is "protection from alignment" a single spell, or is it multiple spells each with a different alignment?


Here's a link to the magnet: Arrow Magnet
Here's another relevant link: Damaging Objects
On the link to damaging objects you need to scroll down to the section labeled Ranged Weapon Damage (also, I've seen other people do links that auto scrolled... How do you do that?).

Now the Arrow Magnet has 5 hit points and 8 hardness. But the rules for damaging objects with that type of weapons specifically states that you are supposed to halve the damage before applying hardness.

My question is: Does that mean you actually have to do 18 points of damage to do even a single point of damage to the Arrow Magnet?

I would like to say that we had this question come up in a game I'm currently a player in, and the GM ruled that in this particular case the damage was not to be halved, otherwise the item would be too powerful. I didn't mind his ruling one bit, but it did get me to wonder about RAW... And if you are supposed to halve the damage before applying hardness doesn't it seem like the item is slightly too powerful for a 600 gp item?


I apologize in advance if this has been brought up before but I really did try to find anything about it before starting a new thread.
For reference here is dimensional lock:
http://paizo.com/prd/spells/dimensionalLock.html

My question is how the spell resistance applies.

is it:
a) Spell Resistance applies only to creatures within the area at casting
b) Spell Resistance applies once per creature when they interact with the spell
c) Something entirely different that I haven't thought of.

I have tried to find a clarification in CRB; FAQ and the rules question forum.