I´ve got a question pushing the vital strike issue further, as well as flaming and Full Attack action.
Some background: I got a gun scavenger and I'm looking at using a DBP. I can make it flaming, and I can take Vital Strike. I'm using a standard attack action on my turn and then deciding if I want to make it a Full Attack or not.
Now, to rulings:
"Attack
Making an attack is a standard action."
"Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack
After your first attack, you can decide to take a move action instead of making your remaining attacks, depending on how the first attack turns out and assuming you have not already taken a move action this round. If you’ve already taken a 5-foot step, you can’t use your move action to move any distance, but you could still use a different kind of move action."
"Vital Strike
Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon’s damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision-based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total."
"Flaming
Upon command, a flaming weapon is sheathed in fire that deals an extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit. The fire does not harm the wielder. The effect remains until another command is given."
Keywords that are confusing:
""Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack": its not written ONE attack or putting plural on attacks, so it should be RAW as the ATTACK ACTION and the FULL ATTACK ACTION. R or W?
Also note that the "Attack" word as well as the "Full Attack" words starts with capital letters.
"deals an extra 1d6 points of fire damage on a successful hit": it says HIT not ATTACK.
Questions/Scenarios:
So, assuming shooting 2 bullets with DBP is one attack: Can I start with a "standard action", triggering vital strike AND THEN PROCEED by making the "full attack" (not using DB shots, but still making use of the remainder of multiple attacks?)
And how does that work with a flaming DBP?
Tl, dr:
If DB shooting was 2 attacks, I think we would all agree that flaming would proc twice, BUT...
If DB shooting is 1 attack, can you argue that a single attack doesn't imply a single hit, so you could proc flame DMG twice if both bullets HIT?
If Full Attack starts with a standard Attack action, can you use DBP with VS on your first shot , and then proceed to do the remainder of the attacks (not using DB shots or proc.ing VS)?
Thanks in advance! =)