Hairdar the Accursed / Hairdar Yunan

Largo's page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Scarab Sages

Posting as Khalid Bahar, my Osirion Alchemist.

After relating what happened and the two sides proposed by Amenopheus and the Diamond Sage, Khalid pauses. He strokes his short, thick beard for a moment and he resumes, "While our other companions were split initially, myself and my fellow Osirion Pathfinder, Tipp, saw only one solution. This is not a time for divisiness. This is a time were both parties' ideas had equal value."

"Therefore, the our proposal is simple. We believe that for the sake of the Osirion nation, the sake of our faction, and for the sake of the Jeweled Sages, that we attempt to enact both their proposals to the fullest extent possible. While we want scholarly minds, wisened and thoughtful of the past, we need ones that can adapt with the times and not only learn from the past but act to prevent history from repeating itself. Both are two halves of the same whole. Neither proposal will succeed without the other."

"The other Pathfinders with us at the time ultimately saw the wisdom of this plan, and agreed with us. We believe that this is the best way forward."

Scarab Sages

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, I started playing an Alchemist, and am thinking about taking Tanglefoot Bomb as my next discovery. But I need a rules clarification.

Tanglefoot Bomb of course says the following:

Tanglefoot Bomb: "A creature that takes a direct hit from a tanglefoot bomb must save against the bomb’s DC or be entangled and glued to the floor as if it had failed its save against a tanglefoot bag. Creatures in the splash area that fail their saves are entangled but not glued to the floor; those who make this save are not entangled at all."

What is confusing is the first part for direct hits, and the very last line about saves. The first part about direct hits says the bomb functions like a tanglefoot bag. To me, I read that it means that the Reflex save given to a hit target is to avoid being glued to the ground, just like a tanglefoot bag. Effectively, the target, as long as there is a direct hit, is entangled even if it makes the save, just like a tanglefoot bag.

However, the last bit says "those who make this save are not entangled at all." Does this part apply to both targets directly hit and those in the bomb's splash, or just to those in the bomb's splash radius?

If the last line applies to the directly hit target as well as those in the bomb's splash, I feel this is much less powerful, as the best part of tanglefoot bags is that if they hit they always at least entangle. I'm really hoping that is not the case here, but I want to make sure I'm reading the power correctly.