Korian's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


ShadowcatX wrote:
Smite works when you target a foe. You can not target with channel, you hit an area of effect. You may hit the target of the smite with damage, but you are not targeting him with damage.

I disagree.

You begin by choosing a target then you can make damage on it with your bonus. PRD doesn't say you have to target again each time you deal damages.

If you were right, does it works if the pally uses Selective Channeling ?


concerro wrote:
You need a damage roll, which is only mentioned in certain situations.

But not in all situations.

So why, in this one, it would be necessary ?

And a channel energy provokes a damage roll on undead.

Thanks for yours answers, but i still stand on my first idea.


Sorry for my english but it's not my birth language. I'm french ;)
I try my best.

I found here that answer from James Risner (Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber)
here

concerro wrote:
do a search for "damage rolls" it only comes up when using a weapon

See answer 3 in the post above. No weapon is need.

If it work for spells, why couldn't it work for smite ? nowhere it is written that it couldn't.


concerro wrote:


prd wrote:
Attacks: Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents, are considered attacks. Attempts to channel energy count as attacks if it would harm any creatures in the area. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don't harm anyone.

Ok, Channeling is an attack.

I think it's better for my point of view : there is no attack roll because it's automatic but there's damages roll so bonus applies.

concerro wrote:
Smite does not work with channel energy.

Why ? Where is wrote ?

concerro wrote:
You have to apply the correct ability to the correct attack.

PRD specifies all damages. Why it will be an exception ?


leo1925 wrote:
No, channel energy isn't an attack.

Yes, but Smite Evil talks about all damages without condition of attack.

Anyone else :) ?


No one can answer ?
Please ... ;)


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi :)

Does Smite Evil works with channel energy ?
Channel energy has damage roll but no attack roll so it's not clear for me.

Thanks.


Hi,

Does the five-foot step is constant for every size ?

Example : A giant of storm has a speed of 50ft without armor. His step's still 5 foot like a human ?

Thanks for answers.