KeithJohn's page

Organized Play Member. 13 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 6 Organized Play characters.



Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The question I have is about proficiencies and feats during character creation. For example, the Core Rules state that Paladins are proficient with all types of armor and shields except tower shields. Does this therefor imply that they gain the armor proficiency feat and shield proficiency feat upon creation and do not have to "spend" a feat to acquire them? I can't seem to pin it down in the rules, then again it's a big book and I often ain't too bright.
Keith

Lantern Lodge

Having played fighters or rogues (or variants thereof), I have decided to change things up with a new wizard character. I've got the build done, except for one small thing. Craft skill. What would be the best specialization to pick for Craft? I figure basketry is out (although there could be some comedy in enchanted baskets...or even a market. Not knowing what wizards can do at higher levels, and given the plethora spells out there, what would work best? Thanks for any suggestions you folks are willing to give.
Keith

Lantern Lodge

Just want to make sure I understand this rule correctly. On pg. 162 of Ultimate Magic it states:
"A character who elects to be a wordcaster in a
spellcasting class typically cannot use the spells of that class.."
So, if I interpret this correctly, if you create a wizard they can't use spells listed in the Core Rule Book, only those listed for Words of Power, right? (Man I hate still being a newbie after six months)
Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Keith

Lantern Lodge

In all my years of roleplaying, I've never played MU and have decided to try. Being relatively new to Pathfinder (about 5 months), I'm a bit confused on the explanation of some spells. I'm not grasping the meaning of the likes of:

"The maximum number of HD of animals you can affect is equal to 2d4
+ caster level." (from Calm Animals, Core Rule 252)

or

"A sleep spell causes a magical slumber to come upon 4 HD of
creatures." (from Sleep, Core Rules 344)

I know HD is hit dice, but I'm not getting the concept in explanations of this sort. I don't understand how to interpret these. Any help would be deeply appreciated...even if my ignorance is showing. thanks
Keith

Lantern Lodge

Oh how I hate being a newbie...anyway. The question is this:
A ninja's weapon and armor proficiency includes the use of a kama, listed in the Core rules as an exotic weapon. The kama double chained is listed in the Ultimate Combat book as an exotic weapon (makes sense), but can a ninja use it without penalty, or do they have to pick up the Exotic Weapon proficiency feat because it is different from a plain kama and not listed with their proficiencies? I ask because the kama as well as other exotic weapons are specified in the ninja profile, one being kusurigama which falls in the same chart as the kama double chain, which is not specified in the list but is still a kama. Hope the question makes sense. Did I mention I hate being a newbie?

Lantern Lodge

Okay, I've looked at the boards (which were confusing) on this earlier and have a question. The way the description reads:

Kama, Double-Chained: This weapon comprises a pair of kama connected with an 8-foot length of chain. The wielder can attack as if armed with a single kama in each hand or extend the chain to make a single reach attack. By swinging the rope, the wielder can whip the kama about to disarm or trip opponents. Furthermore, if one of the weapons is dropped, the wielder can retrieve as a free action by pulling on the chain.

So what I get is that you can make two attacks w/Two Weapon Fighting with only a -2 because they are both light weapons; or you can make one single reach attack action. Now comes the tricky part for me. Does the description imply that since the weapon has reach that you can trip and disarm at reach distance or do you need to be adjacent to your opponent?

Yeah, the subject has been beat up a little but I thought I'd ask the question anyway. Still a newbie, still learning. Appreciate the patience.

Lantern Lodge

Okay, being the newbie I am (only one game...enjoyed it so much I'm ready to sell of my historical miniatures), I've got a question generated by reading the rules that checking the different posts hasn't helped. It regards multiplying damage. From page 179, Core Rules:

"When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So, if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage."

Math deficient as I am, this seems a bit confusing. The last time I checked, if I double the number 1 twice it comes out to four not three. Taking the case of 1d6 + 3 stren:
What the rules say is that this should be 3d6 + 9, but my poor head keeps telling me it should be 4d6 + 12 (1d6 + 3 doubled once = 2d6 +6, then working off the original number again you get 2d6 + 6, together that comes out to 4d6 + 12).

I know I've got to be missing the mechanics in here but I can't seem to grasp it. Anbody got an explanation that would make senes? Sorry for the elementary questions, but a guys gotta learn.