JulesLetters's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Pardon me if there has been any answer about this before. I've been digging in the forums and elsewhere and I haven't seen this addressed.

Can the Arcanist's Greater Exploit ability "Redirect Spell" be used to take control of an enemy Summon spell (Summon Monster, Summon Nature's Ally, etc.) and then control the summoned creature?

Redirect Spell from Arcanist on Paizo.com:
Redirect Spell (Su): The arcanist can gain control of a spell cast by another spellcaster. As a standard action by expending 1 point from her arcane reservoir, the arcanist can make a caster level check opposed by the creature controlling the spell. If the arcanist is successful, she can direct the spell as a free action for 1 round, making any decisions allowed by the spell. This only functions on spells that can be directed or changed once they have been cast, such as flaming sphere or spiritual weapon. The spell returns to its owner's control at the start of the arcanist's next turn, unless the arcanist expends another point from her arcane reservoir at the start of her turn to extend the duration of control by another round. She can continue to control the spell for as long as the spell lasts, provided she keeps spending points from her arcane reservoir.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have been looking for ways to heat water to give to a large population. Many ideas, both absurd and practical have come about. One of the most curious I found was the Cauldron of Brewing. It has similar statistics to a cauldron, suggesting it holds 1 gallon of liquid.

The text states it is capable of heating any liquid placed inside anywhere from room temperature to hot enough to boil salt water.

How long does this take? Is it fast enough that any liquid entering the cauldron is heated? Does the change take place over a round?

I realize I'm poking at what might be an opinion question, but the item set me to thinking for quite a time, so I thought I would ask.