J Michael Neal's page

Organized Play Member. 20 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 17 Organized Play characters.




1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

1) Could you use Bless Equipment and Quick Channel together? If so, would you have to spend double the number of channel uses to give an item a quality as listed? Or would you just have to use one additional use to do it quickly?

2) Bless Equipment says that you have to touch the item that you are enhancing. Greater Bless Weapon says that you can enhance two items that are both within range. While those aren't incompatible ("two items within range" could mean two items that you can touch simultaneously) it seems like an odd way to phrase that. Was Greater Bless Equipment intended to be usable within a normal channel range? Or am I reading too much into this?


Can a multiclassed Brawler/Maneuver Master Monk stack Brawler's Flurry and Flurry of Maneuvers, making all of the flurry attacks followed by a single maneuver? The relevant wording of Brawler's Flurry is:

Quote:
Starting at 2nd level, a brawler can make a brawler's flurry as a full-attack action. When doing so, a brawler has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat when attacking with any combination of unarmed strikes, weapons from the close fighter weapon group, or weapons with the "monk" special feature. She does not need to use two different weapons to use this ability.

and the relevant wording of Flurry of Maneuvers is:

Quote:
At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action. The maneuver master uses his monk level in place of his base attack bonus to determine his CMB for the bonus maneuvers, though all combat maneuver checks suffer a –2 penalty when using a flurry.

That makes it seem like you can, since the Brawler's Flurry is described as a full attack action and Flurry of Maneuvers allows you to add an extra maneuver as part of a full attack action. That seems a little out of hand, though.


What is the effect when a paladin's or a cavalier's bonded mount is charmed by an NPC? Specifically what I'm looking at is the harpy ability Captivating Song. If the mount fails its save, presumably it starts galloping off towards the harpy. If the PC is riding the mount at the time, does she have any way to regain control?


Does the additional 2d6 of damage apply to sunder maneuvers? What about golems and other constructs? Do these count as inanimate objects?


From reading the threads maybe this is clear to other people but I find the wording of the Spell Perfection feat to be really ambiguous. If it didn't seem that everyone else thinks otherwise it wouldn't be ambiguous at all and would clearly mean the opposite of what people are saying. It says, "Whenever you cast that spell you may apply any one metamagic feat you have to that spell without affecting its level or casting time, as long as the total modified level of the spell does not use a spell slot above 9th level."

Everyone seems to interpret this as saying that you cannot, say, use the feat to put Quicken Spell on a spell of 6th level or greater because that would raise the modified level of the spell to more than 9. But that's not what the feat actually says. It says that the one metamagic feat you apply using doesn't change the level of the spell and it uses a spell slot of the same level as the base spell, unless you put other metamagic feats on it.

As the feat is written, you should be able to use Spell Perfection to put any single metamagic feat you know on to whatever spell you have perfected regardless of level. The caveat would apply only to putting additional metamagic feats on that same spell. I could believe that that's not what the designers intended but that's not what they wrote.