Seoni has to fight a monster with a Combat 13.
She has a combat of 1d4.
She can add 1d4 for a blessing discarded and add further die if any ally or item cards grant combat modifications. This however looks like a looser.
Instead, She can discard a card to use one of her powers to Roll her Arcane die 1d12+2 + id6; this counting as playing a spell. (OR she could play a spell card such as the Acid Arrow)
She can add 1d12 for a blessing discarded.
Can she discard the Sheriff Hemlock card to add a 1d6 to this combat roll?
Can she play a weapon to further add to her chances? The dagger card says “For your combat check, reveal this card to roll your Dexterity or Ranged die +1d4…….” In Seoni’s Case her dexterity is 1d8, so does this give her another 1d8 + 1d4?
Basically what I see is that this is a combat check modified by a power or spell enhanced by cards granting combat boons.
Having said all that, I have been playing “conservatively”, not using cards that add dice to combat rolls if they have been modified by Powers or Spells.
As for the dagger card I have been using it only if rolling basic Dexterity skill dice? Although the rules indicate on Page16 under “Weapons” that weapon cards often require you to do something (such as to reveal the card) to modify your combat check. Using the card this way does modify the combat check.
Sorry for the confusion but every time encounter this situation, which is often, I grit my teeth and wonder if I am not shooting myself in the foot unnecessarily