HeidiT's page

11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




If character A loses to a single-check monster, can character B then attempt to defeat that monster?


If character A loses to a single-check monster, can character B then attempt to defeat that monster?


I just ran across the rule that "if a card requires multiple checks to defeat it, any character at the location can attempt one or more of the checks, as long as the character who encountered the card attempts at least one of them," and I want to make sure I understand it. So, for example, with villains where you have to succeed at first one check and then another, the player who encountered the card only needs to attempt (but not necessarily succeed?) at one check?

What about encounters where before the combat begins you have to succeed at a wisdom or perception or some other kind of check? Does that count as a card that requires multiple checks to defeat it?

We've played several scenarios without being aware of this rule. (Guess the rulebook is right about "easy to forget" rules.) I know it's going to affect our gameplay, and I want to make sure I understand exactly how it plays out.


I've asked this before, and the answer seemed very clear-cut (and resulted in easier gameplay), but I want to ask again to be sure.

When you have a check to acquire, and it says, for instance,
Intelligence
Arcane
5

I know that means that you need to reach a five with your intelligence score OR your intelligence: arcane score. Does it ALSO mean, however, that you can reach a five using another kind of arcane score, like your Charisma: arcane score?


I've searched the forum and read the rule book for an answers to these question, but I'm still not totally clear. Thanks in advance for your help.

Question 1: When one encounters a Divine check, does one use:

a. One's Wisdom: divine skill
b. One's Charisma: divine skill
c. Either one
d. An actual Divine skill, which none of the characters in the base set have but which more advanced characters have
e. It depends on some other element

Question 2: Can an ally who modifies a skill also modify its sub-skills? For instance, if I'm attempting a Charisma: diplomacy check and I have an ally who adds a d6 to a Charisma check, can I use that ally to add a d6 to my Charisma: diplomacy check?


We just beat Brigandoom (yay!) and the reward was a drawing a random item. If we just have to go in and rebuild our decks, though, how does a random item strengthen us as we go into the (presumably harder) next scenario? It doesn't increase our deck size and since it was randomly drawn it's actually less likely to help us than the cards we selected originally. I'm sure it's a good reward, but we don't see how. What are we missing?