The Jester

Harkaelian's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 90 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.



Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This came up this weekend and we had a lively discussion about the following situation. Without giving spoilers the party was facing a fire based creature. One of our two Clerics used shield other on our Ranger and cast resist fire on himself.

When the Ranger eventually took fire damage he (the Cleric) applied HIS fire resistance to the shared damage he took. The discussion was, would the Clerics fire resistance apply to the damage shared to him from the Ranger? Basically is literally half the "fire damage" being transferred to the Cleric or is the spell simply sharing half the damage (regardless and independent of source or type) being shared. Our DM allowed the resistance to apply but I am afraid if I was DMing I would rule against that.

To me the spell transfers half the trauma to the other character not literally half of the spell or physical damage induced including properties/material/effects that caused the damage.
/pulls pin and tosses
//seriously looking for opinions especially official ones

Sovereign Court

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The first item is the Cloak of the Manta Ray. It seems the item is INTENDED to provide its +3 NA ability when it is activated or in use - underwater water. However as written you could interpret that affect as always active. Which is correct?

The second is the Adventurer's Sash. In its description it says - it requires a move action to open or close the clasp securing a pouch or they can be left open (unlocked) to allow even EASIER access to items inside. Some interpret that "even easier" portion to mean if a pouch is left unsecrued it is a free action to retrieve an item inside. How was this item intended?

Hoping for a quick official answer and not a 50 post debate. P.S. Both of these questions came up this last weekend at a game convention.