Grindstone's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Adrastus: And that's really all I was looking for in response to my inquiry during the fight. Which is why I have a hard time linking "sense motive" to "check if this greatsword is making him bleed". I mean, greavous wounds are not really something people (or freaking animals) bluff.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
wraithstrike wrote:
Grindstone wrote:
Thanks for the answers. The PC in question is a Shaman, so would that be WIS vs. the opposing spell-casters applicable attribute? Or using CHA anyway?
It's still cha vs cha. It doesn't default to your main casting stat so if the other caster is cha-based then he has an advantage in most cases.

Him, being an ugly shaman, that stinks. Thanks guys!


I completely agree, sense motive made zero sense to me. He said it's to find the CR (even when I specified "not how overall strong he is, but how much he is bleeding") and that enemies are basically always trying to conceal how injured they are, even when they're not trying to conceal how injured they are. Including animals (which is what this started with).
Now he's saying that it's carried over from 3.5, which i have never played. I thought he was refeerring to a specific rule and was trying to get him to show it to me, but he kept talking around it. Eventually I got him to admit it (sense motive for damage) was from 3.5 and does not exist in any offical pathfinder source. That it's basically DM fiat. Now, since it's not stated as a specific rule, it's not happening at all.
:/


I dont mean like exact HP left, but something like "they are bleeding profusely and look close to death" sort of thing. My DM says "sense motive" but I just don't understand the logic of that at all. I'm no expert, and can't find a thing in the book, so any help would be great.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for the answers. The PC in question is a Shaman, so would that be WIS vs. the opposing spell-casters applicable attribute? Or using CHA anyway?


Got a question regarding a scenario where an animal is already under a mind-affecting enchantment spell by an adversary and I am attempting to affect the animal with my own mind-affecting enchantment spell. How would this be determined? The books don't seem to be clear on this, unless I missed it (likely). I don't think spell DC vs spell DC would be right. Spellcraft check? Could use any help. Thanks!