Godferret's page

56 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Hello,

I am currently designing an investigator character with the Alchemical Sciences methodology and have a question about quick tincture (though I think it probably applies equally to quick alchemy).

Quick tincture and quick alchemy both specify that the items created are only potent for a limited amount of time (end of your turn and start of your next turn, respectively). How do these abilities work with respect to alchemical items that take longer than that to activate? In this instance, I'm thinking of Sovereign Glue, which takes one minute to activate. If I make a dose of sovereign glue using quick tincture/alchemy, and immediately start applying it to an object, can I complete the application to make use of it? Or can you functionally only use these abilities with items whose activation will be complete before the potency expires?

Thank you.


Hello,

Dragon Style allows you to " ignore difficult terrain when you charge, run, or withdraw." When charging through difficult terrain, does it still take two squares of movement per square of difficult terrain, or does "ignore" mean you treat it exactly like normal terrain and move through it using a normal amount of movement?

To be clear, does a Dragon Style charge that passes through ten feet of difficult terrain take ten or twenty feet of movement to get through there?

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.


This Spell has me pretty confused.

Lesser Entice Fey wrote:

This spell functions as lesser planar ally, except that you entice a fey of 6 HD or fewer to lend you its aid with an offering of music or something else it finds appealing. Like lesser planar ally, this spell is unpredictable, and the fey who answers the calling is up to the whims of nature and the fey, not your own choice.

You must succeed at a Knowledge (nature) check or Perform check (DC = 20 + target's HD) in addition to the spell's material component to entice the fey into appearing, after which you can negotiate for the service and your payment. The maximum HD of fey that you can call with that casting is equal to the result of your check – 20. For example, if your check result is a 24, the maximum HD for the called fey is 4. A high result doesn't allow you to break the HD maximum for the spell, and a result of 20 or less means you can't call a fey at all. If the fey doesn't like the sound of your offer, it can simply choose to refuse, in which case you don't expend any of the material components for the spell, either the offerings or the payment.

I'm particularly confused by the last chunk concerning the perform or knowledge check. It says you have to make a check and the result -20 is the HD limit of what you can call. It also says that rolling 20 or fewer doesn't mean you can't call a fey at all. But then what DOES it mean? If the HD limit of what I can call is zero or a negative number, that seems like I can't call a fey at all. Does anyone have any thoughts on how to interpret this?


Both of the above Vigilante talents add (with qualifications) half of an Avenger Vigilante's level to damage. One of them effects finessed weapons when you use strength for damage, the other effects unarmed strikes and gauntlets. You could conceivably have both talents; if you did, would their effect stack when finessing your unarmed strike and using strength for damage?

I know that two abilities that add the same ability score bonus don't stack (ala Warpriest/Monk), but I couldn't figure out if the rule is the same for abilities that add your level (or a fraction thereof). Intuitively it seems that the same rule would apply, but I figured it was worth asking the forum. Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

**Edited to correct a terminology error.


I apologize if this has been answered before; I did some searching and couldn't find it.

If you are maintaining a spell with a duration of "Concentration" in combat, can you only cease concentration (and end the spell) on your own turn? Let's leave aside for a moment why you'd want to (I've got a sort of screwy situation in my head where this might be useful, but now I'm honestly just curious). My instinct is that you can't because nothing says you can and the default is that you can't act off turn. In the duration section of the magic rules, it says:

d20pfsrd.org wrote:
A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.

So, if something doesn't take an action, can I do it off turn?


Stinking Cloud nauseates you for 1d4+1 rounds after you leave the cloud. Even if you still have rounds of nausea left, you stop being nauseated once the spell's duration ends, correct?

Thank you in advance for your answers.


I'm considering a Fated Champion Skald for an upcoming campaign; I wanted to actually see what spells were covered by this ability:

Far Seer wrote:

At 5th level, a fated champion learns a method of spell kenning that is especially suited for divining and understanding the future, but not for directly harming opponents. For the purpose of determining what level spell slot he expends when using spell kenning, the skald treats the spell level of spells that predict the future (such as augury and divination) as one spell level lower (minimum spell level 1st), and treats the spell level of spells that deal damage as one spell level higher.

This ability alters the spell kenning class feature.

I'm trying to determine what other spells qualify as spells "that predict the future." Harrowing and the greater version seem to qualify, assuming my GM is willing to let me take the time to mess around with a harrow deck. But what else? Contact Other Plane seems like it may qualify, assuming I use it to ask about the future. Any other ideas? I like the archetype and I can't imagine I'd frequently be using Spell Kenning to deal damage directly, so I am not terribly concerned about the downsides of this ability, but I want to make sure that if I take this archetype, I do so knowing it's full potential. Thanks.