GingerDiceHoarder's page

3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


That's completely your call, of course.

Yes, I was using the word "mundane" to mean "non-magical", and thus equivalent (in this case) to "Extraordinary".

To my knowledge there are no instances of Supernatural blindsense/blindsight. I believe that's exactly the point of senses like lifesense and spiritsense. A creature with lifesense doesn't have a special sensory organ for it, it simply knows where every living creature sufficiently close to it is. Blindsense and blindsight are common, everyday senses other than vision that are naturally (or have been trained to be) so extraordinarily sensitive that they allow a creature to sense its three-dimensional environment with an accuracy near to or equaling that of human vision in a sufficiently lit environment.

If I did run across a supernatural blindsense/blindsight (and managed to notice that it was Su instead of Ex), I probably wouldn't allow Dampen Presence to work against that either. Basically, I'd rule that standing really, really still (even slowing your heartbeat) doesn't do squat to hide you from magical/supernatural/occult/whatever senses that don't utilize your movement or its environmental effects (such as sound, air movement, and vibrations) in any way to detect you.

That's just me, though.

(By the way, thanks to the flavor text provided with the feat, I'd probably rule that it does work against tremorsense, probably with a decent penalty, even though the feat specifically says it doesn't, just because it makes sense to me.)


We can argue 'til the cows come home about which interpretation is correct under RAW, since the language, in fact, isn't entirely clear.

From an intention standpoint, though, here's my argument: A feat that allows you to hide from perfectly mundane senses using perfectly mundane means shouldn't be interpreted as allowing you to hide from supernatural senses unless it explicitly says it does.


Apologies if this has been asked and answered.

Has there ever been any further clarification beyond the Core Rulebook as to how the Ranger's Favored Terrain feature (and other equivalent abilities) actually works in regard to adventures on planes that aren't the Material Plane? Other than the single line "If a specific terrain falls into more than one category of favored terrain, the ranger’s bonuses do not stack; he simply uses whichever bonus is higher.", and the inclusion of "Planes (pick one, other than Material Plane)" on the list of Favored Terrain options, I haven't been able to find any details in the rules, which leads me to a couple of related questions:

-Do FT bonuses from non-planar terrains work anywhere outside the Material Plane? For example, does a ranger with "Forest" as a FT gain the benefits when in forests/forest analogues in Elysium or the Fey World?

-Does "pick one" mean an entire plane, or a single layer of a plane? Does a ranger who selects "The Abyss" as a FT gain the bonuses on every single layer of the Abyss, despite one layer being wildly different from the next, or do they only gain the bonuses on one specific layer? (If the latter, can they select the same plane multiple times to get bonuses in more than one layer?)

-Presuming a ranger does pick an extraplanar FT, does Knowledge(geography) actually do any good on another plane? Do they just essentially not get that bonus because it's completely useless? Would it make more sense to swap the bonus to Knowledge(planes) checks to navigate instead?

Some of those questions it's pretty easy to figure out the RAW answer, but I'm also wondering if Paizo has ever clarified them in terms of RAI.