Georgios's page

12 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Dear Diego Rossi, I don't care about that recharging. My barbarian is level 3 and I don't think he is going to get to 17 as we usually stop at around 8th or 9th level.

I was reading the tread about rage cycling though and my group has always played it that if you end a rage on your turn before doing anything, you don't get charged for that turn worth of rage. People on that thread through are saying we do it wrong?

Dear Tels: I get fatigued if I end my rage at the end of each turn. I am not using a build made to do all that fancy stuff people use with being immune to fatigue, so if I end my rage at the end of each turn in case combat ends before my next turn, then I couldn't start it again. Or else I am paying an "extra" round of rage every time I rage. But I want to follow RAW and I have probably enough rage for it (I end most days with extra), it is just that we don't use house rules (after a DM a while ago got too happy with them, we all agreed that it is better to do RAW) so I want to know what the rule is.

And I play the barbarian. I don't have cake and eat it, I smash cake! :)


When I rage as a barbarian for X rounds, do I have to spend x+1 rounds worth of rage? (due to if I end it first thing on my turn, I still get charged for that turn)?

for an example:

round 1: rage, attack monster
fighter buddy also attacks and kills monster

round 2: on my turn I get charged round of rage (as duration of last round ends right before my turn). First thing I do is end rage, but do I still get charged?


Quote:

Burrowing is just digging, like using a shovel very quickly.

If a critter can only dig through dirt, I can see wood being a problem for them, but if they can dig through stone, wood's actually easier than they are used to.

You know, you are right. But sometimes rules are there for good gameplay and not to totally represent real world physics exactly.

As an example, you know what else is easier to dig through than stone? Soft yielding monster flesh. If a creature can burrow through stone, surely it should be able to burrow through monsters and auto kill him, right? (or at least, let it burrow through a stone golem and auto kill that, right?).

But thats not how the rules work. And there are some good reasons for it, even ignoring silly scenarios like burrowing through creatures. For example there are high level spells like Earthquake for destroying the wooden fort or the king's manor, that would get obsoleted if you could do the same thing with a badger summon/pet at level 1 and at totally unrealiztic speed.

Now it seems you already decided what answer you wanted before you started this thread, and if so, I would say go ahead and houserule it (did someone summon a tree to stop a monster or something? Its fine to use common sense saying that a little tree wouldnt really bother a giant monster, I dont think anyone would argue too much if you handwaved it for a purple worm even). Anyway, though, you know what RAW (such as it is) is, now, and always it is best to know RAW first before going to the house rule.

Hope htis has helped.

EDIT: Also, for roots and such, this is where GM is supposed to use his judgment to decide whether roots are an impediment or not. Some tiny little plant roots might not stop a purple worm, but mighty jungle behemoth redwood roots a yard thick might slow it down. You can't expect a rulebook to cover every little situation like this and spend pages telling you exactly how thick a root is big enough to stop a burrowing purple worm for the one in a thousand groups who this would matter for, this is what GMs are for.

And I think we only offered that interpretation as advice to you in your GMing, as it seemed you were looking for a way to rule on a critter going through roots. That is how I would do it. But that's more offered as a way to make RAW (you can't burrow through wood) and your complaint about creatures moving through roots less disagreeing with each other, wile still being a common sense explanation. So if you hate it, don't use it. I will say though that it is totally silly to insist on RAW on roots slowing something down (which seems like good common sense) but then say that common sense has to overrule RAW with burrowing through wood at all. Pick one or the other! :p


Doomed Hero wrote:

So An earth elemental would be stopped cold by the roots of a tree?

A Bullete can basically swim through hard-packed ground but would be stopped cold by a wooden door?

A Thoqqua, which can swim through solid rock, can't go through a ship's hull?

Why is wood harder to get through than earth and stone?

An earth elemental can definitely not go through wood. Loose roots would be the same as a person walking through heavy brush, as someone above said, you can move through them but slower as they obstruct you like brush would. Big or thick roots would be like someone trying to walk through a tree trunk or a wall of thorns, with a heavy stregnth check required to break through (plain impossible for most people, but an elder elemental is strong enough to be able to do it).

The earth elemental ability plainly says what it works on, and wood isn't there, though. So. You can't do it.

Quote:
A burrowing earth elemental can pass through stone, dirt, or almost any other sort of earth except metal

As for bulette, he is a big strong monster, he can probably make any strength checks to burst through something that is obstructing him (same as a bigger earth elemental, or a regular monster trying to burst through a door).

Thoqqua has a similar thing, he can deal fire damage to damage wood obstacles.

So none of these monsters are stopped cold as you say, but they all have to use the rules and not just phase through wooden obstacles.


ThatEvilGuy wrote:
I'm giving the player about 12 hours to get back to me before I do the switch so people have about that much time to submit.

So is this still open?


Stubs McKenzie wrote:
Georgios wrote:

A tied up creature is like when the guard has grappled you and then he puts handcuffs on you, you are put in handcuffs not helpless. It doesn't say you are helpless in the rules, so you arent.

A helpless person is like when the guard has brought you back home to a station and you are all shackled to the wall. And you are totally bound, like in the rules, so you are helpless.

When you post something like this, please lead with "my interpretation is that" or some such. What you posted is a fine way to look at it, but has nearly nothing to do with the rules... no where does it describe a bound condition, nor if/when the "tied up" condition differs or changes, or how it changes.

It does have to do with the rules. The rules say nothing about you becoming helpless when someone ties you up using the grapple rules, so you don't become helpless.

Since being tightly bound is given as an example of helpless, tightly bound must then be something more than having slapped a rope or a manacles on someone. You are more thoroughly bound, someone has taken time to make sure you can't move at all.


Well you could house rule it that way but James Jacobs says it works so that the target knows. It is an ability to tempt someone to fall with evil by offering them power, not an ability to sneakily help good guys without them knowing.

For the other questions, the first is no and the third is no, unless the succubus can get a scroll of dispel evil or chaos. The rules say that if the succubus does willingly remove its gift, the Cha drain happens with no save, and the Universal Monster Rules for energy drains says that it happens automatically whenever the attack hits (the grapple). It does not say that the monster can choose to energy drain, it says it happens automatically. It is a immortal spirit of destruction existing to torment corrupt and destroy them after all.


No, because you don't get SR to shake off something already on you, you get it just to ignore it flat out the first time. It is the same as if clerics cast Spell Resistance on you after you are affected by a spell, it protects you from later spells but not from anything already on you.


Everybody who answered 2 as yes got it wrong. The right answer is no (it says they have to be willing right in the ability, guys!

Also, James Jacobs said the same thing in a thread here:

Quote:
A profane gift doesn't register to detect magic, but will to detect chaos and detect evil. And since the target of a profane gift has to be willing, the character with the gift is absolutely aware that he's under the effect. He gets to choose which ability score increases, after all.

http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz23ol?Can-profane-gift#6


They are different bonus types so they stack.


I dont think becoming immune makes you ignore things already effecting you. Isnt there a rule that immunity is like unbeatable SR? So if you are already afraid, unbeatable SR wouldnt make you unafraid.


A tied up creature is like when the guard has grappled you and then he puts handcuffs on you, you are put in handcuffs not helpless. It doesn't say you are helpless in the rules, so you arent.

A helpless person is like when the guard has brought you back home to a station and you are all shackled to the wall. And you are totally bound, like in the rules, so you are helpless.