FileTransferProdigal's page

Organized Play Member. 16 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 6 Organized Play characters.



1/5

A while ago, I was playing in a game and a plot-important skill check came up. I rolled poorly, and the GM declared that he was granting me his reroll (with his GM star bonus). Later, I was hit with a save-or-die spell, and rolled very low. So, I tried to use the reroll granted from owning a character folio. I was told I couldn't reroll, because I was given one earlier by the GM. Looking at the free reroll rule, it says you only get one reroll for owning some official Paizo product (so no getting two rerolls for wearing a t-shirt and having a folio). Does this limit include the GM giving a reroll to a player?
(Presumably, this limit does not apply to rerolls granted by class features; if you had such an ability, a shirt would get you +1 rerolls to the number you could do per game)

I could not find the rules explaining GM granting rerolls to players.

1/5

This question requires spoilers for 2-02 Before the Dawn II from Season 2

Spoiler:
I was looking at one of the faction goals, "Become possessed by a creature using magic jar, the malevolence ability, or a similar effect." Can I achieve this goal by possessing another creature?

In the scenario, there's a point where the artifact allows one character to inhabit the body of a high-CR construct, and I was the one to do so. Since I possessed the construct, a creature, can I count that? If we take a strict word-by-word reading of the cards, it's a no, but it seems like it may be in the spirit of the card(?).


Last week, I played a PFS game with an unchained summoner, and my eidolon contracted Ghoul Fever. As part of the scenario wrap up, I had to roll out saves across multiple days, because the place where we fought the ghouls was a several week journey by ship. The eidolon got under 5 Con when the GM decided to just hand-waive it, saying that since there was a quartermaster on board we could purchase miscellaneous items from at the beginning of the scenario, I could just pay for the Remove Disease and be done with it.

So, I was wondering what the specifics are for an eidolon dying of a disease like this, particularly if it gets transformed into an undead creature. There is discussion in the class description about what happens if an eidolon is "slain," which I'm not sure this covers.
Would the eidolon become "slain" when it hits 0 Con and then I could just re-call it the next day? Would it become a Ghoul, requiring the party to kill it, and then I could re-call it the day after that? If I left it in the Plane of Summoned creatures, the disease should progress as normal (doesn't get suppressed like certain Remove X spells or paused like a Delay Y spell), resulting in a Ghoul stomping around some other plane? Would there be something about the situation that would prevent me from getting the same eidolon back after such a thing happened (like how you can't Raise Dead on someone who was turned into an undead creature) and I would have to get a new one as if a familiar or animal companion died? Does this being a PFS game affect the situation?

1/5

My bard just entered PF Chronicler, and I was wondering how one of its abilities works in PFS play - Epic Tales, the one that lets you basically make Scrolls of Bardic Performance.

In a normal campaign, such a character would just record unused rounds of performance at the end of the day, and keep track of when they expire. In PFS, there is an undetermined amount of time between scenarios (but enough time to get a normal wage from a day job). So would the character start a scenario with "PFC class level"-number of epic tales scrolls with each containing whatever number of rounds the character is capable of producing? "PFC class level"-number of scrolls with a reduced number of rounds on each? One scroll of the max number of rounds? Something else?

Also, do you need to specify what kind of Bardic Performance the Epic Tale scroll confers when it's scribed or when it's activated?


Is there a comprehensive list of classes that need a Spell Component Pouch?

I always thought of it as like a holy symbol for Wizards (and then Druids have the holly and mistletoe as divine focus), but it seems like other classes need one. I tried using the level one starter kits as a basis for who needs one and who doesn't, but that's giving me an inconsistent picture. Assuming it's required for little-a arcanists only doesn't seem right because the Cleric's Kit and Druid's Kit comes with one; assuming only prepared casters need one doesn't seem right because Hunter's and Inquisitor's Kits come with one, but the Bard's Kit and Summoner's Kit don't come with one. Seems like there's nothing to glean from whether or not a particular Kit has one or not.

Or are sorcerers (and those who spend a feat on Eschew Materials) the only casters who don't need one?

1/5

Are Inquisitions Deity-restricted like Domains? Or is it like Oracle Mysteries where they list "recommended Deities" in the entry?