| Fellwalker |
The Healing Grace power of the Life sub-school of Necromancy states that "[w]henever you cast a spell that has targets, affects creatures in an area, or requires an attack roll, you may heal creatures affected by the spell a total of 1 point of damage per level of the spell."(APG p.146)
My question is this, what is the definition of "casting a spell"? Is it strictly the act of casting memorized spells or does that include spell completion and spell trigger items?
The core rules states under Scrolls that "[u]sing a scroll is basically like casting a spell"(p.490) and under Wands that "...casting a spell from a wand is.."(p.496).
Also, is this healing replacing the normal effects of the spell or in addition? Will a fireball from a Life Specialist Wizard of 8th level heal for 3 points to everyone in an area OR burn them for 8d6 or burn them for 8d6 AND heal them for 3 points?