I'm sorry for bringing up an apparently dead subject, but I've had a really hard time finding any information. I found only the post above mentioning that Mark answered this question in a Grab-Bag FAQ, but there are no digital records of this FAQ that I can find, only this one post by Alabaster Scarf.
Greater Tyrant Totem is supposed to do 1d4+Str as a small barbarian, 1d6+Str as a medium barbarian, but no mention of scaling? I'd assume 1d8+Str for a large creature (I'm building an ogre character) based on the Damage Dice Progression chart, but would really appreciate confirmation. I'd also like to confirm if the Gluttonous Gobbler feat (an ogre specific feat that also grants swallow whole) is scaled in the same way?
It's been really frustrating since there seems to be no standard for Swallow Whole other than Eidolons. Why does the barbarian's Swallow Whole seem like it's worse than an Eidolon's Swallow Whole evolution anyway? (Swallow Whole=Bite damage+1d6)
If I could get these numbers confirmed for me on the damage scaling, I'd really appreciate it. Any other comments helping to explain why the damage scaled in this way is balanced would be GREAT so I can show my GM the ruling.
I'm sorry for bringing up an apparently dead subject, but I've had a really hard time finding any information. I found a single link mentioning that you answered this question in a Grab-Bag FAQ, but there are no digital records of this FAQ that I can find.
Greater Tyrant Totem, from what I found, is supposed to do 1d4+Str as a small barbarian, 1d6+Str as a medium barbarian, but no mention of scaling. I'd assume 1d8+Str for a large (I'm building an ogre character) based on the Damage Dice Progression chart, but would really appreciate confirmation. I'd also like to confirm if the Gluttonous Gobbler feat (an ogre specific feat that also grants swallow whole) is scaled in the same way?
It's been really frustrating since there seems to be no standard for Swallow Whole other than Eidolons. Why does the barbarian's Swallow Whole seem like it's worse than an Eidolon's Swallow Whole evolution anyway? (Swallow Whole=Bite damage+1d6)
If you could confirm for me the damage scaling, I'd really appreciate it. Any other comments helping to explain why the damage is scaled that way would be GREAT so I can show my GM the ruling.
I'm working on a character for a 20th level one-shot, making an Urban Bloodrager, when I noticed something.
Controlled Bloodrage:
When an urban bloodrager rages, she does not gain the normal benefits. Instead, she can apply a +4 morale bonus to her Constitution, Dexterity, or Strength. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater bloodrage and to +8 when she gains mighty bloodrage. She can apply the full bonus to one ability score or split the bonus between several scores in increments of 2. When using a controlled bloodrage, an urban bloodrager gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Charisma-, Dexterity-, and Intelligence-based skills. A controlled bloodrage still counts as a bloodrage for the purposes of any spells, feats, and other effects.
Bolding the part that bothers me, this says nothing for what happens with Greater Bloodrage or Mighty Bloorage, other than the increase in stat bonus. Does this mean that the bonus to Will that Greater and Mighty give is also ignored? It doesn't seem fair if you lose ALL will saves from the ability, when the archetype specifically says it changes Bloodrage, not Greater and Mighty Bloodrage.
If you pick an Advanced Weapon Training though, it only says you don't pick another weapon group. So what happens with the extra bonus on the previous weapon group?
Because the Advanced Weapon Training rules do not make mention of it, the advancement of your original weapon training bonus remains unchanged. You'll get the advancement to +2 at 9th level regardless of whether you decide to take advanced weapon training or not.
So the fact that it's all in the same paragraph doesn't matter for the phrase "instead of selecting an additional fighter weapon group", it only matters that I don't pick a new weapon group because I picked advanced training?
I can definitely see how it's read that way, and honestly that makes sense to me. But I could also see it being read the other way, why I wanted to double check... Thank you for the prompt response!
Okay, so I looked around quite a bit, and haven't seen anything on this topic yet. So I just want to understand the Fighter's Weapon Training and Advanced Training a little better. Posted below is exact wording off the Fighter page. (link: https://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/fighter/ )
Weapon Training
Spoiler:
Starting at 5th level, a fighter can select one group of weapons, as noted below. Whenever he attacks with a weapon from this group, he gains a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls.
Every four levels thereafter (9th*, 13th, and 17th), a fighter becomes further trained in another group of weapons. He gains a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls when using a weapon from this group. In addition, the bonuses granted by previous weapon groups increase by +1 each. For example, when a fighter reaches 9th level, he receives a +1 bonus on attack and damage rolls with one weapon group and a +2 bonus on attack and damage rolls with the weapon group selected at 5th level. Bonuses granted from overlapping groups do not stack. Take the highest bonus granted for a weapon if it resides in two or more groups.
A fighter also adds this bonus to any combat maneuver checks made with weapons from his group. This bonus also applies to the fighter’s Combat Maneuver Defense when defending against disarm and sunder attempts made against weapons from this group.
Advanced Weapon Training: Beginning at 9th level, instead of selecting an additional fighter weapon group, a fighter can choose an advanced weapon training option (see Advanced Weapon Training below) for one fighter weapon group that he previously selected with the weapon training class feature.
Ignoring feats entirely, and focusing entirely on the wording of this class feature, my question is a simple one. Level 5, pick one weapon group, get +1. Level 9 you have a choice, pick another weapon group to get +1 in OR an advanced training trick. If you pick a weapon group for level 9, it's implicit that your previous group also improves to +2. If you pick an Advanced Weapon Training though, it only says you don't pick another weapon group. So what happens with the extra bonus on the previous weapon group?
As an example, say I pick Heavy Blades Weapon Group for level 5. For level 9, I pick Focused Weapon for Advanced. Does my bonus to Heavy Blades Weapon group improve to +2, or remain at +1?
TL;DR: Does selecting the Advanced Weapon Training still improve the previous weapon group from level 5?