Enter_Name's page

Organized Play Member. 7 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.




Hi everyone.

I got an interesting idea, and I want to hear your opinion)

In the balephul polymorph spell it says -

Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form.

So, if a character is under baleful polymorph I can cast another baleful polymorph and after the character fails his save THE FIRST POLYMORPH SHOULD BE AUTOMATICALLY DISPELLED. Then I can just dispell MY polymorh which can be done AUTOMATICALLY as well, instead of dispelling the original polymorph, which could require 30/40/50+ caster level check.

Your thoughts?)


Hi everyone.

On my last game I had an argue with DM about the following moment - BBEG casted a spell with verbal component. I wanted to identify the spell but DM said that I can't since I was blinded and in spellcraft skills the following is noted -
Identifying a spell as it is being cast requires no action, but you must be able to CLEARLY SEE the spell as it is being cast....

So, he stated that I can't identify the spell since, according to the description, the spellcraft check relyes to vision (you must be able to CLEARLY SEE), and visual based checks are failed automatically while blinded.

I tried to find some clarification on forums, since it seems ridiculous to me - i can HEAR the verbal component, but i couldn't find any thread about it. FAQ doesn't have any clarification on this.

Did someone face similar situations?