Daniel Mack's page

Organized Play Member. 6 posts (74 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.


RSS


How about:

roll 8d20's drop 2 reroll any 1's,2's,19's and 20's (or keep them but lose your racial modifiers...)

(a d20 roll has the same average as 3d6, which is probably why they chose 3d6 to begin with.)


Spell combat also says it is treated as two weapon fighting(TWF) except that the other attack is the casting of a spell. I would take that to mean for Spell combat it woulod be treated as a light weapon.

"Melee" also denotes the range of the weapon, as in melee or range. So a natural weapon not being a range weapon would have to be melee.

however since most melee'" range manufactured weapons are referred to as "Melee weapons" clarification for which definition of the word they were using is needed.


If I recall from "Ultimate Magic" the Hooves act just like the Claws evolution (including damage), which on pg 60 of the APG state :
Claws (Ex): An eidolon has a pair of vicious claws at the
end of its limbs, giving it two claw attacks. These attacks
are primary attacks. The claws deal 1d4 points of damage
(1d6 if Large, 1d8 if Huge). The eidolon must have the
limbs evolution to take this evolution. This evolution can
only be applied to the limbs (legs) evolution once This
evolution can be selected more than once, but the eidolon
must possess an equal number of the limbs evolution.

if you notice the last sentence says you can take it twice but only if you have also taken "limbs" an equal amount of times too.

to answer the question I think its mainly flavor so that someone who wants a horse eidolon can have one with hooves and not claws or feet.


wraithstrike wrote:
DGRM44 wrote:
Stockvillain wrote:

Touch Spells in combat

"to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll"

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round

A touch attack is still an attack action; if you make one as part of casting a spell, it happens to be a free action. If it requires an attack roll and you are not making the touch attack as part of the spell [i.e. holding the charge], you *must* use a separate attack action to make the attack. In order to move-touch-move you *must* have spring attack.

ok I am confused now. Does a wizard have to make an attack roll to use a touch spell? In all cases? What bonuses get added to his attack roll...what AC defense bonuses are part of the defenders armor class during the touch attack?

You must make a touch attack which requires an attack roll to use a spell.

You add BAB+Strength modifier. If you have weapon finesse you get to add the dex modifier instead.

Touch attacks target the touch AC which includes all bonuses except armor, shield, and natural armor).

A spellcaster makes an attack roll for a Touch Attack which goes against the targets touch AC.

If the target is not an enemy ie you are casting magearmor (or some other beneficial spell on yourself or ally) you are not making an attack so there is no attack roll.
Otherwise as stated above you add any of your appropriate melee bonuses to the attack roll, or range bonuses if it is a range touch attack.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Prawn wrote:

If someone runs by you, can you get an AoO on them with your shield?

Do you need to declare before hand that you are threatening with it?

Would you lose your AC bonus from the shield until your next turn?

Pg 180 of the core rulebook says "You Threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn."

Pg 152 reads "If you use your Shield as a weapon, you lose its AC bonus until your next turn."

The way I read this you threaten (and can therefore make AoO into) all the squares around you whenever you have a shield strapped to your arm. However, once you use your shield in a shieldbash you lose its bonus to AC until next round. (unless you take "Improved Shield Bash" Pg 128 core rule book.)


The only one I can think of is an exotic dwarf weapon in the "Dwarves of Golarion" Companion called the "Dwarven Dorn-Dergar". It's a 1d10 dmg 10ft ball and chain that allows you to switch from reach to normal as a move action. There are also some feats that go with it that if taken allow you to do the change from reach to close-range as a swift action (Darting Viper feat)or wield it in one hand (Dorn-Dergar Master).

So if you took the EWProf feat (or were a dwarf with MWProf.) you could for instance kill someone next to you with your standard action then switch to reach as a move action and wait chances to take AoO's...

or If you took the "Darting Viper" feat you could as part of a full round attack hit someone 10ft away, then swift action to change ,and use your other attacks to hot someone close.

The weapon does not otherwise allow you to use it to attack reach AND adjacent targets at the same time though...