Daelarid's page

2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Dr. Frank Funkelstein wrote:

"as part of the action" means that no other action (interact, draw, whatever) is required.

There is a limit to the amount of tools you can wear (2 bulk), but with only a healers toolkit you just need the free hand.

Placing a hand back to a 2h weapon is not part of the described interaction, it is an interact ation to "Change your grip by adding a hand to an item"

My question then is, what does "replace" mean in the context. If you need a free hand to draw and then use the item with the action to use the healer's toolkit and you can do nothing outside of that, you don't "replace" anything, making the term redundant as I understand it.


Source Player Core pg. 288 2.0
Price 5 gp
Hands 1 or 2; Bulk 1This kit of bandages, herbs, and suturing tools is necessary for Medicine checks to Administer First Aid, Treat Disease, Treat Poison, or Treat Wounds. If you wear your healer's toolkit, you can draw and replace them as part of the action that uses them.

I'm having a hard time finding other game rules that use the word "replace" for reference, so I'm unclear what replace means and what it's limits are.

Another tread about this subject is located at https://www.reddit.com/r/Pathfinder2e/comments/yo3peh/what_does_drawn_and_r eplace_mean/ but I'm not satisfied with answers found there. Some people there say that replace means you can stow the item, but why isn't the word stow used instead then? It seems unlikely to me that this rule would say replace when they intend you to use that replace only to stow.

Would the following scenario be possible: I am playing a character that uses 2 handed weapons and wears a healers toolkit. I am holding my 2 handed weapon in both my hands. I use the release free action to remove 1 hand from my weapon giving me 1 free hand.

You can use the Release free action (page 417) to:

Drop an item to the ground.

Change your grip by removing a hand from an item.

Then I use my healer's toolkit for battle medicine, drawing it as part of the action, using battle medicine as part of the same action and then replacing it by adding that hand back to my 2 handed weapon.

Would that be possible I would assume not due to the rule in Draw, put away, or swap

Draw, put away, or swap an item. You must be holding the item to put it away or wearing it to draw it. Swapping allows you to put away one item and draw another in the same action (such as putting away a dagger and drawing a mace). Abilities that specify what you do when you Interact only allow this if they say so; the Quick Draw feat lets a rogue Interact to draw a weapon, but doesn't allow them to stow one as well. Swapping lets you swap only one item for another; if you were wielding two weapons, you could put away one of them and draw a different item, but you would need to put away the second weapon separately.

Specifically the part that says

Abilities that specify what you do when you Interact only allow this if they say so;

My rules as written interpretation is that, because it is never explicitly stated that replace does something to interact, it does nothing. Which seems weird because why even put the replace there in the first place if it does nothing.

If any of you know for sure what the rules as intended are please tell me in the comments because it's confusing me.