Cyrus Thane's page

10 posts. Organized Play character for Verecoth.



Grand Lodge

Hi, I'm playing an Exemplar and my DM and I have conflicting interpretations of how to calculate damage for the Fracture Mountain ability of the Titan's Breaker ikon.

My interpretation is that when using the ability the per die damage increases, and you add extra dice of damage. His interpretation is that the per die damage is replaced with a flat modifier, and you receive the extra dice.

For instance:

Scenario 1: My base weapon (I have a Striking rune) goes from 2d8+4+Str to 3d8+12+Str

This is what I believe is correct.

Scenario 2: My weapon goes from 2d8+4+Str to 3d8+4+Str

I would appreciate if someone could either ask this to be flagged for FAQ or if I could get an answer from an official source. There's way too much arguing about this online to find a coherent and decisive answer.

Grand Lodge

So I'm trying to construct a Kobold Dragonblood Shifter and I'd settled on a one level dip into a Lore Oracle for Sidestep Secret, but now I'm looking at Defensive Instinct on the Shifter and wondering if they'd stack.

The Sidestep Secret revelation says that you use your Charisma mod in place of your Dexterity mod for AC and Reflex saves.

Defensive Instinct says you add your Wisdom mod, though my DM is letting me take a feat from the Legendary Shifters 3rd party book that shifts all Shifter features that depend on Wisdom to being based on Charisma. That said, it just says you add your modifier for that stat (if any) to your AC and CMD.

Would these two abilities stack? Would I get my Charisma as my Dex replacement and then get my Charisma again?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So I only found one other thread about this spell on the forum and it didn't answer this particular question.

In the text for Spellcasting Contract, Lesser it states that you receive a bonus equal to the highest level imbued spell to your Armor Class, saves, and checks.

In the example text subsequent to that, it states that the example character receives this bonus to their attacks, saves, and checks.

Which is correct? Or do you receive the bonuses to Armor Class, attacks, saves, and checks. I'm playing a Cleric of Asmodeus and am intending to use this spell, so I need this answered.

Thanks in advance.

Grand Lodge

So I'm about to take the Summon Guardian Spirit in a game and I'm taking an Imp who will be gaining enough HD to reach more than double his original HD.

The Bestiary says that as a general rule any creature whose HD increases by 50% gains an increase in size. Would my Imp increase in size as he gains more and more HD from being summoned by a more and more powerful Summon Monster spell? Theoretically if this rule is followed he could end up being larger than my character, and I for one would really like this.

Grand Lodge

Alright, so I've searched a fair bit on this and so far I can't find anything that answers this question.

I'm playing in an evil game, and I'm playing a character with the Negative Energy Affinity trait. My class is Antipaladin, and soon I am going to receive Channel Energy.

I mentioned that a great thing about Channel Negative Energy for me is that I can always heal myself, even while harming others. My DM argued that by the wording of Channel Energy, that's not the case.

He says that I am only healed by Negative Energy that is channeled to heal undead, and not to harm the living. Now, if it was another cleric/antipaladin channeling to affect me I would say he is right, but it says under Channel Energy "A cleric may always choose to include himself in this effect."

To me, that means that I can always be included in my own Channel Energy, and will be affected by my Negative Energy depending on whether I am alive or undead. In this case, I will be healed because I am considered to be undead.

Am I right that I can heal myself Negative Energy that is channeled to harm the living, or is he right that I can only be healed by Negative Energy channeled to heal undead?

I would be immensely grateful to any dev wandering by that could provide an answer, because both myself and my DM are 100% sure of our positions.

Grand Lodge

Alright, my friend and I were testing our character against each other and we came upon an interesting question. The situation is this;

My character charged his and went to make an attack. His character had a ranged attack readied for when my character came within 40ft. He hit and my character was dropped to 0hp, so he was conscious but disabled.

I want to know whether or not my character would be able to finish the charge action he was already taking before the other guy hit him, since it could mean the difference between who actually dies.