CourageousGecko's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thank you very much. I could not find the thread. Appreciate it


So I got my Adventure Pack 4 in the mail today for Skull and Shackles, and I could not be more excited to Swashbuckle my way through it with me mates!

But there was a strange card that was included in my pack. The front of the card looks like a role card for Bikendi Otongu. It is the Ghost Mage role, and on the other side is the background information, like on the back of the character card for an actual character.

Has anyone gotten one of these or something similar? Does anyone know anything about this?

I wish you all luck on your adventures on the Isle of Empty Eyes!

....Yargh


Must... remove... foot... from mouth!


Dave Riley wrote:
You might be confusing Merisiel's power with evasion spells and powers that specify a "non-villain monster." Merisiel's power has no restrictions. As long as the card she's evading doesn't say "may not be evaded," she can skip right by it. :D

But doesnt the rule book state that villains may not be evaded?


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
We each play 2 characters, and one of hers is Merisiel. What we ended up doing was having Merisiel evade the first villain she found.

I thought that Villains could not be evaded? Or does Merisiels power trump that?


So when it is displayed next to the ship, anyone on that ship gets the bonus. I understand that.

But at the end of the turn who played the card, the card must be discarded? or does it stick around for the whole game?

Can someone end their turn, then play the jolly Roger at the beginning of the next players turn, so it sticks around until the end of "the player who played it"s turn?

Ex. 3 person game Lem, Lini, and Valeros. Lem ends his turn. Before Lini explores, Lem plays the Jolly Roger, on the ship. The Jolly Roger, then persists until it is the end of Lems next turn?

Also one more question... When the Jolly Roger is displayed, does it still take up a slot in your hand?


Jonah G wrote:

Cards have no memories, you cannot stack discard abilities.

If you discard a spell from your hand, it doesn't mean you are also casting the spell, it just means you are discarding it. Your character special power supersedes what it says on the card.

The recharge craft thing is if you USE THE POTION as it was intended, not if you use it as a throwing weapon. However! If you discard your noxious bomb for its 2d6 noxious bomb effect, you can then use your special recharge ability. But you cannot use both abilities.

Example: This means you can discard a potion of fortitude into a bomb that does 1d6 +d6, OR you can drink the potion of fortitude for its effect and then use your craft power to recharge it.

Thanks Jonah. I thought that that would be way too much. I haven't been playing the game like that, just wondering about the possibilities.


So far my group is about half way through adventure deck 1. I am the alchemist.

During a fight, I understand that when I use a noxious bomb I have the alchemist ability to discard another card to add a d6, and a 2nd d6 if that card has the alchemical trait. Therefore, for the attack you get your dex ranged + 2d6 (nox. bomb) + 2d6 (alchemical discard). On the Noxious bomb, there is another statement that you may discard a card to add your craft skill to the check, plus you can do a recharge check (craft 9) for a chance to recharge that item instead of discarding.

So now to my question... If I discard an item for my character ability (+1d6 or +2d6 if the card has alchemical trait), can I activate the noxious bomb ability (add craft skill to combat check) with that same discarded card?

Let me know if that is not completely clear. Thanks for any other insight.