Aghash

Cardinal Reinhardt's page

33 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




6 people marked this as a favorite.

I want to go about this by creating a Titan Mauler barbarian, and taking the body bludgeon rage power. For reference, here are the relevant abilities:

Body Bludgeon (Ex):

Prerequisite: Barbarian 10

Benefit: While raging, if the barbarian pins an opponent that is smaller than her, she can then use that opponent as a two-handed improvised weapon that deals 1d8 points of bludgeoning damage, assuming the opponent is sized Small. Larger or smaller creatures used as a bludgeon deal damage based on their size using this base damage. A size Tiny creature deals 1d6 points of damage, a size Medium creature deals 1d10 points of damage, and so on. The barbarian can make a single attack using the pinned opponent as part of the action she uses to maintain the grapple, using her highest attack bonus. Whenever the barbarian hits using the pinned opponent as a weapon, she deals damage to her target normally, and the grappled opponent used as a bludgeon also takes the same damage she dealt to the target. If the pinned opponent is unable to resist being pinned for any reason, the barbarian can use that opponent as an improvised weapon without grappling or pinning the opponent, until the creature is reduced to 0 or fewer hit points, at which point the creature becomes useless as an improvised weapon.

Jotungrip (Ex):

At 2nd level, a titan mauler may choose to wield a two-handed melee weapon in one hand with a –2 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. The weapon must be appropriately sized for her, and it is treated as one-handed when determining the effect of Power Attack, Strength bonus to damage, and the like.

From what I understand, provided I have the above two abilities, and an limitless supply of halflings that cannot (or will not) resist being pinned, I can dual wield said halflings. Basically, I'm asking for advice regarding how to accomplish these two things. This character will definitely end up being thoroughly evil, and I'm entirely fine with that.

Edit: Now that I think about it, this character should be an evil NPC.


As the title suggests, I have a question regarding the ability to take tens on a knowledge check. Now, I have seen a number of folks on this forum claim that anyone can take a ten on a knowledge check. The rules page for knowledge checks do not seem to indicate one way or the other. The only reason I find this to be dubious is the following ability:

Loremaster (Ex):

At 5th level, the bard becomes a master of lore and can take 10 on any Knowledge skill check that he has ranks in. A bard can choose not to take 10 and can instead roll normally. In addition, once per day, the bard can take 20 on any Knowledge skill check as a standard action.

Since this explicitly mentions taking a ten on knowledge checks, I am inclined to believe that this is normally not possible. The only other (reasonable) interpretation I can think of is that Loremaster allows the bard to take a ten on knowledge checks in combat. In short, my questions are:

1) What is the rule for taking a ten on knowledge checks?
2) If anyone can do this, why would it be specifically mentioned as a clause in the Loremaster ability?

Also, I apologize if this can be found elsewhere. I was unable to find a definitive answer to such a question myself.