BuncyTheFrog's page

Organized Play Member. 2 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Hi all, question for the archivists in the crowd.

I'm in a game with a player who has been treating staves as if they use different rules than the normal staff recharge rules.

For reference:

PRD wrote:
Recharging Staves: Staves hold a maximum of 10 charges. Each spell cast from a staff consumes one or more charges. When a staff runs out of charges, it cannot be used until it is recharged. Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares spells or regains spell slots, he can also imbue one staff with a portion of his power so long as one or more of the spells cast by the staff is on his spell list and he is capable of casting at least one of the spells. Imbuing a staff with this power restores one charge to the staff, but the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff. For example, a 9th-level wizard with a staff of fire could imbue the staff with one charge per day by using up one of his 4th-level spells. A staff cannot gain more than one charge per day and a caster cannot imbue more than one staff per day.

His understanding was:

Quote:
I have played Pathfinder for years and it was always, one charge per day per staff if you had one of its spells to give up. At least that was what was understood between multiple DMs and myself.

So the major differences are that you can charge multiple staves, and you can charge them using the lowest-level spell on the staff.

I've looked at D&D 3.5 through to 5th, and they don't use something like these rules either.

So!

Have the rules around recharging staves ever changed from something like my friend has mentioned to the current form, or have they always been that way?


I found this while looking around myself:

http://dxcontent.com/MDB_MonsterBlock.asp?MDBID=419

Premonition (Su) Once per day as an immediate action, a caulborn can receive a flash of insight that allows it to attempt to avoid a single attack. This premonition grants the caulborn a +2 insight bonus to AC and on Reflex saves.