Torag

Big Blue 22's page

79 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




If a PC takes the Leadership feat does the player running the PC get to create the cohort and all the followers choosing their classes, races, skill, feats, equipment, etc.? The rule is utterly silent regarding where the cohort and followers come from.


In a recent session, a telekinetic trap pulled three characters into a pit of green slime. Resolving the exposure of their bodies to the green slime is pretty straightforward, but what about all their gear? In the green slime description it says "Against wood or metal, green slime deals 2d6 points of damage per round, ignoring metal's hardness but not that of wood. It does not harm stone." There is no mention of a saving throw.

There are some tables for arms and armor hit points and a table for material hit points, but I can't find anything that discusses what happens to magical or mundane items exposed to the slime. For instance, what about a handy haversack, efficient quiver, backpack, boots of striding and springing, a ring of protection, cloak of resistance, etc. etc. It looks to me like most things would not have very many hit points, like 5 or less. If you add another 10 for being magic like each plus 1 for arms and armor some of the gear would survive. This fall could be very expensive if all their gear is destroyed. Mending only repairs the item, it does not recreate the magic.

Thoughts?


Boots of Striding and Springing add 10' to "base land speed". The swim skill provides you may swim at up to half your "speed" (as a full-round action) or at a quarter of your speed (as a move action).

Some things like Haste specifically say they do increase swim speed, but the Boots only talk about land speed and jumping.

Do the Boots increase the distance that a character can swim in a round?


Are there any written rules for low light vision/darkvision/light sources under water? I have a campaign in flooded catacombs.


I play in a campaign where anything in an official Pathfinder publication is allowed. I was just perusing my new dirty tactics book and I came across Accomplished Sneak Attacker:

Prerequisite(s): Sneak attack class feature.

Benefit(s): Your sneak attack damage increases by 1d6.

Your number of sneak attack dice cannot exceed half your character level (rounded up).

To qualify to become an arcane trickster, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria.

Alignment: Any nonlawful.

Skills: Disable Device 4 ranks, Escape Artist 4 ranks, Knowledge (arcana) 4 ranks.

Spells: Ability to cast mage hand and at least one arcane spell of 2nd level or higher.

Special: Sneak attack +2d6.
needs

So it looks like a character could go Wizard 3/Rogue or Assassin 1 and start taking AT levels with character level 5 and only be 1 level behind a straight wizard in CL. Am I missing something cause I am having a hard time figuring out why anyone in our campaign would go straight Wizard if he can get all the AT benefits for loss of only 1 CL?

It may make sense to put a 2nd level rogue just to get evasion.


I have found various threads on grappled and spell casting, but have not seen anyone who noted the difference between being grappled and grappling someone. Are the grapple rules trying to say a grappled character can do things that the grappling character cannot? Is the idea that the grappling character is using both hands to grapple the target?

Grapple:
Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that requires only one hand to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you.

Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

Pinned: A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack.

Grappling or Pinned: The only spells you can cast while grappling or pinned are those without somatic components and whose material components (if any) you have in hand. Even so, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + the grappler's CMB + the level of the spell you're casting) or lose the spell.

It seems important to me that the Magic section uses "grappling" rather than grappled. I suppose it could be a typo, but I don’t think so. I think it is intended to limit the grappler as they are focused on hanging on to the grappled. Any thoughts?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The PCs in my group have a broom-of-flying. The rules are unclear and these boards have not offered any definitive answers (that I could find) regarding how riding/flying a broom of flying (broom) works. The broom description references overland flight which in turn references fly. The broom description also references +4 to fly skill checks. The Fly skill DC list appears to be mostly focused on winged flight (hovering requires a check, etc.) but also governs the fly spell. The Ride skill references riding any mount including flying mounts. The broom has weight restrictions: 400 max, and faster at less than 200. The broom will come when called and can be sent places apparently without a rider. Ride specifically talks about guiding the mount with your knees, shooting a bow riding, etc. A carpet of flying specifically says it needs verbal commands for control and does not need to make a check to hover, language not included in the broom description. Like the broom, the carpet has weight limits and weight affects the speed.

Has anyone put some thought into this and made up any kind of home rule they would be willing to share?

Here are the questions we have run into:

1) How is a broom controlled while in flight: verbal command, thoughts, pointing and leaning, other?

2) Does riding a broom involve skill checks with ride, fly, or some combination of the two?

3) Can a PC ride a broom of flying without using either hand like guiding a mount with knees?

3a) A mount generally has a saddle or some apparatus for connecting or securing the rider, how difficult is it to stay on a broom?

4) What are the DCs for zipping around on the broom?

5) Can 2 characters who total less than the max weight limit both ride the broom?

5a) If so, what does that do to the DCs?

5b) If so, can they change transfer control of the broom while in flight?


We ran into a situation this week where the party had eliminated the enemy's one sentry without being detected. The players then had a discussion about what to do next. About 30 seconds into the player discussion, one player, without informing or discussing it with any other player, turned to the GM and said, "I cast Stinking Cloud into the middle of the enemies' camp." No one else said that the were doing anything. GM said role initiative and allowed the spell to be cast in the surprise round but then ruled that no one else got a surprise round as they were not aware the spell was going to be cast so they could not synchronize their attacks in the surprise round. Basically they were surprised by the spell being cast and unprepared. Thoughts?


So I just had a Paladin make 10 level gaining access to 3rd Level Paladin spells. I have read them and a few are ok (Deadly Juggernaut, Burst of Speed, Litany of Escape) but none really jump out like Hero's Defiance (1st) or Paladin's Sacrifice (2nd). Am I missing something?


Our 7th level group has an arch nemesis vampire. We have turned him gaseous on several occasions but he always seems to slip away. He has a contingency that when he turns gaseous he also becomes invisible. He has a magic item that gives him permanent non-detection. He only attacks us when he has an escape route - cracks in floor, walls or ceilings that we cannot get through quick enough to follow him. We only have access to 4th level spells at this point in time plus we can't really afford to memorize spells designed specifically to get him as he appears rarely. We tried making scrolls of gaseous form, locate creature, see invisible, etc. to try and follow/find him, but between a round or two lead while we use the scrolls, the invisibility, and the non-detection we can't seem to stay with him. I suppose sooner or later locate creature will get past his magic item with the DC23 non-detection and he will fail his save against the locate creature, but we estimate each of these is about a 25% success for us so we are looking at about 1/16 chance of getting a locate to work.

Any thoughts?


This came up as my Paladin was facing evil creatures with susceptibility to cold.

Is it just an oversight? If not, it seems pretty arbitrary.


Can both of these be used on the same weapon and stack for the limited purpose of bypassing DR?

For instance 4th Level Paladin has +3 heavy flail. She activates her Divine Bond and chooses to turn her weapon into a +4 heavy flail. She then casts Bless Weapon on the same heavy flail. For bypassing DR ONLY is it now considered a +5 weapon?

They are both classified as enhancement, but bless says it is not actually an enhancement bonus on a bonus to bypassing DR.

Also same Paladin with same weapon. If the she activates her Divine Bond to get flaming and then casts Bless Weapon is the item +3 Flaming for attacks but +4 for bypassing DR?

I think it pretty obvious the auto confirm for crits of Bless Weapon would apply in both circumstances.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can Mythic surge be used to turn an automatic failure (i.e. roll of 1 on a saving throw attempt) into a non-automatic failure?

My opinion is that surging is different than a bonus of +1, etc. The whole idea of surging seems to be taking a failure on a roll and with a second additional role making it into a non-failure.

Thoughts??


Caster places enlarge person on a comrade. He then castes permanency on the enlarged person. Does the target have any ability to turn the enlargement effect on and off?

I think the answer is no and am instead recommending they make an item with 5 uses per day. Thoughts?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Rogue, Core page 68 provides: Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.

Arcane Trickster, Core page 377 provides: Sneak Attack: This is exactly like the rogue ability of the same name.

Arcane trickster, Core page 378 provides: At 10th level an arcane trickster can add her sneak attack damage to any spell that deals damage, if the targets are flat footed.

Question: Does that mean that only flat footed targets that are also within 30 feet of the caster of a surprise spell, for instance fireball, take sneak attack damage?


All the Symbol spells all reference the Symbol of Death spell which specifies "you scribe a potent rune of power upon a surface."

Teleport Object allows for teleporting "up to 50 lbs./level and 3 cu. ft./level". So a 13th level caster could teleport up to 650 lbs. and 39 cu.ft.

Assume that the symbol is scribed on a surface that meets the weight and cu.ft. restrictions for Teleport Object. Is there any reason that the caster could not create the Symbol and then teleport it to within 60' of the enemy?

Second question: Assuming the above can be done, does attuning the Symbol to allies make them immune to the affect or just make them none triggers? If an ally or the caster was in the area of effect when the Symbol is activated by someone else would all suffer the effects?

Thanks


Our adventuring group recently acquired a portable hole so we were having a general discussion of its uses. A question arose:

Could an adventuring group use a portable hole to go through a 10' thick wall? The thought was the group could open the portable hole on the wall, climb inside the hole, close the hole from the inside, then reopen it on the opposite side of the wall, climb out of the hole, and pick up the hole thereby passing through the wall leaving no trace of their passage.

Thoughts?