Anarchos's page

3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I'd like to point out one minor detail regarding the original example of wearing full plate versus carrying it. Encumbrance from weight and armor represent two different causes with similar effects. Movement penalties from armor are less about the weight of the armor and more about how it sits and restricts the character's ability to move within the armor, while penalties from weight are more about the load slowing you down directly. So while it might seem odd to you that carrying full plate is less restrictive than wearing it, it makes some level of sense from a realism point of view. Just my two cents, though. Carry on.


I personally don't see a problem with the barbarian's hit point increase as it stands. I see raging as similar to an adrenilin rush, and when that rush wears off (the end of the rage), you finally notice all that damage you incurred while you couldn't feel anything. Not to mention, the image of a barbarian dealing the killing blow to a major villan, just before his wounds finally drop him feels kinda epic, without requiring epic levels.


Hi. New to these boards, but I've learned how to rules-lawyer from some of the best, so I hope you're willing to hear me out.

I'm not really feeling willing to read up on most of this, but I may be able to help with this tricky "Awaken" loop we're dealing with. Cracking out my handy SRD, I'm looking at the "Target" line of the spell description. It specifically mentions the term "animal", as does the spell text. "Animal" is defined as a creature type, which is mentioned in various locations to be unable to have an intelligence higher than 2. Therefore, any creature or character with an intelligence of 3 or higher is an illegal target for the Awaken spell. Since the target of the spell has 3d6 intelligence, they can't be an animal (due to a minimum of 3 intelligence from the roll), and therefore becomes an illegal target for the spell. No DM finesse, no crazy cross-examples. As written, the Awaken spell can be used on a target animal once and only once. Now, if you could turn yourself into a tree, you'd have something, but I have yet to see a spell that allows that.