ATADTOAD's page

Organized Play Member. 4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Honestly sorry if I come off stubborn, I saw one guy who agreed with me and 3 others that didn't(Another who literally quoted the instinct ability without the part I had like on purpose?) on the word Wielding, and what it means and if it applies, I wanted RAW and according to the Rules.

but sense Paizo won't give an answer this is honestly a mute point to me, sorry for wasting everyone's time.


HammerJack wrote:

To the best of my knowledge, there is not an "official ruling" to refer you to and I would not recommend holding out for one.

A fully RAWful Evil reading could say "yes, the only requirement is that you be wielding the Large weapon".

The Intent of the ability is obviously "No, this ability exists to give extra damage when using the large weapon".

The rules quote that you're mostly likely to get is from CRB page 444:

Quote:

Ambiguous Rules

Sometimes a rule could be interpreted multiple ways. If one version is too good to be true, it probably is. If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed.

I read it, and to me, it doesn't seem "obviously" intended to be that the way, the wording on the ability is "When wielding such a weapon in combat," is very specific and deliberate which makes me think its obviously intended the other way around.

Besides not having it work that way really stifles a ton of creative builds for Barb.


Soo many DM's get this wrong it drives me crazy, I want a solid answer, please.

Under Barbarian instinct (Giant)
When wielding such a weapon in combat, increase your additional damage from Rage from 2 to 6,

Does that mean if I hold a one-handed Large weapon, and a Shield boss or just an empty off-hand, and I hit with anything besides the large weapon, do I add the 6 rage damage to the fist/shield boss attack?

IF possible I'm really hoping for any official ruling on this or quote from Paizo.


Soo many DM's get this wrong it drives me crazy, I want a solid answer, please.

Under Barbarian instinct (Giant)
When wielding such a weapon in combat, increase your additional damage from Rage from 2 to 6,

Does that mean if I hold a one-handed Large weapon, and a Shield boss or just an empty off-hand, and I hit with anything besides the large weapon, do I add the 6 rage damage to the fist/shield bosse attack?