Dwarf

707's page

22 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.



1 person marked this as a favorite.

Wow, this was definitely a lot of work.

I personally dislike preparing spellcasters. I think the Arcanist is much stronger than the Wizard. I find the Cleric rather weak, even though most people seem to think otherwise. But that might just be due to our play style.

That said, I really love many of these changes. The idea of making sure the damage boost doesn't stack is fantastic. Also, turning some of the weaker bloodlines into a valid option is a great improvement.

The Dragon Disciple is my favorite prestige class, and I’ve always disliked when people say you should only take four levels in it. Making the dragon form abilities more worthwhile sounds great to me. Especially giving access to the other form of the dragon spells. However, I don’t understand why you’ve given it 3/day for hours per level. Why not do something like the Armor of Bones from the Bones Mystery, where it’s for hours per level in 1-hour increments?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

To answer your question: I don't want to cast antimagic field at all.
Me: "I cast Antimagic Field."
GM: "Let's meet tomorrow, once everybody recalculated their high level Character without magic."

There are some differences like spell DC and dispelling order that make a difference whether you use a higher level spell slot or you use a higher level spell. Which is the reason heighten spell exists in the first place. This might normally not be important for Antimagic Field. This case would however also apply to the aquatic sorcerer bloodline and the geyser spell mentioned in the FAQ above which has a save DC.

Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it. I'm not really looking for advice on spell selection here. I'm trying to understand how the spell list works with spells known. Typically if you have a spell on your spell list and also as spell known, you can cast it on the indicated level. The rare case that the same spell is twice on your spell list is to my knowledge not covered in the rules.

However, so far most people seem to think that the rules imply, that if you have the same spell twice on your spell list, you also need to have it twice as spell known to cast it on both spell levels (not just use a different spell slot). Sadly I still don't understand how you come to this result.