Ebin

3DArtwork's page

11 posts. Alias of John Pettit.


RSS


"In some situations (such as when you're slowed or during a surprise round), you may be unable to take a full round's worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free actions as normal0> You can't take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action.)"

That last parenthesis actually says you can begin your Full-Round Action by using a Standard Action. Thus if you begin your FRA with the Manyshot as your *first* or *last* attack of that round, you should be allowed to.


I just don't see how you can take a specific action during *JUST* your standard action and not a Full-Round Action.

How does that make sense? If you are standing still and attacking, why can't you do the same kind of attacks as you would during a standard action and just choosing not to move?


Page 139, Action Types, Restricted Activity: "...You can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action."


I sure wish I could switch over, but I'm just a player and not the DM. So far everyone except me are against it because they don't see the point....*sigh*


erian_7 wrote:
Where are you reading that? This is a direct quote from the Paizo Reference Document

I'm reading it directly out of the PHB 3.5 that I have in front of me. I had to double check to make sure I was posting this in the D&D 3.5 thread and not Pathfinder as the rule may have changed with PF (I don't have that book in front of me at the moment).


Jiggy wrote:
3DArtwork wrote:
I would like an answer without the sarcasm.
Sorry, there was no sarcasm intended in my post.

Then I apologize. It sounded like you were patronizing a bit, but that was my mistake.

Manyshot has a -4 penalty when you first get it, -6 when you hit high enough BAB that grants 3 arrows, and -8 when you get 4 eventually.

It says in 3.5 PHB "As a standard action" under the Benefit of Manyshot.


erian_7 wrote:


For Manyshot, it states "When making a full-attack action with a bow" and for Rapid Shot it states "When making a full-attack action with a ranged weapon." So, as a bow is a ranged weapon, any character with both feats making a full-attack action with a bow can indeed combine the feats.

So, I'm a bit confused as to what the actual issues is for your situation.

Manyshot

"As a standard action, you may fire two arrows at a single opponent within 30 feet. Both arrows use the same attack roll to determine success and deal damage normally."

My problem is that I am constantly told that because it says "Standard Action" I am not allowed to use it during a Full Round Action. I just don't see how I can use some attack during a turn in which I could attack and move, but I can't use the *same attack* if I just stand still during a Full-Round Attack.


Jiggy wrote:


Whoever you're learning the rules from, stop. Read them for yourself, because the person teaching you is unbelievably wrong.

Manyshot only works during a full-attack (which is a full-round action), not as a standard action. So as your own logic tells you, you get your extra arrows when you spend extra time, not the other way around.

Same with Rapid Shot.

You can use both in the same full-attack.

Manyshot has no penalty.

That make you feel better? :)

I would like an answer without the sarcasm.


I would like to know where specifically it says I cannot perform a specific attack that says "during a standard action" during a Full Round Action instead?

I grow more and more frustrated with 3rd-4th editions.

Ex. Manyshot. It says it can be done during a Standard Action. Great, I can move and use it in the same turn.

If I choose not to move, my Standard Action suddenly becomes a Full Round Action. I can choose to attack as if I had moved and just attack once, but if I am a Fighter or Ranger with multiple attacks per round, of course I'm going to attack as often as I am allowed.

As long as I apply the penalty of using Manyshot, I don't see why I can't use it during a Full Round Action.

Furthermore, the Rapid Shot grants you an additional shot during that Full Round Action. It should have *nothing* to do with Manyshot.

Where does it say it can't stack? I see so many people saying they don't because you can't use a Standard Action during a Full Round Attack, but I have never read this *anywhere* in *any edition*. If someone can back this up with the rule, I will be quite happy.


I wish that the detail of paint in these promo's could somehow be identical to the production line. Especially the eyes.

Really like how accurate the paint job is on these. But I will have to see the actual fig-line in my FLGS first.


Cathedron wrote:
I know this is completely pointless, but there is a mystical, magical way to get your books instantly, avoid delays and hassles, save loads of money, AND let Paizo make more money per book...

Please tell me how I can get my book instantly and save loads of money.

EDIT: And if you referring/suggesting to get the PDF, I'll pass on that. I've never enjoyed having a 200+ page PDF to scroll through.