PFS: Potions vs. Oils


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, there is a list of "always available" items and equipment that any green newbie can buy if he has the gold. That list includes potions and oils of 0- and 1st-level spells at minimum caster level. The thing is, for potions it states parenthetically "50gp or less" and for oils it says "100gp or less". If we're talking about the same level of potions and oils, shouldn't the cost the same? I looked through the CR but couldn't find anything suggesting that oils are priced differently than potions. Did I miss something? Is it a typo in the PFS Guide?

1/5

Jiggy wrote:
In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, there is a list of "always available" items and equipment that any green newbie can buy if he has the gold. That list includes potions and oils of 0- and 1st-level spells at minimum caster level. The thing is, for potions it states parenthetically "50gp or less" and for oils it says "100gp or less". If we're talking about the same level of potions and oils, shouldn't the cost the same? I looked through the CR but couldn't find anything suggesting that oils are priced differently than potions. Did I miss something? Is it a typo in the PFS Guide?

A potion you drink, an oil you apply externally, thats the only difference.

I would suggest the wording comes from wanting to allow purchase of oil of bless weapon which under 3.5 cost 100gp. A bit of a history lesson here: although it should have only cost 50gp because of changes made between 3.0 and 3.5 (Paladin caster level was 1/2 paladin level under 3.0 and became Paladin level -3 under 3.5 rules) it was still listed as 100gp.

I think with the Pathfinder changes it should only cost 50gp. I suppose that you could buy caster level 2 oils to extend the duration and still follow the PFS rules.

5/5

Some call me Tim wrote:
I think with the Pathfinder changes it should only cost 50gp.

Which in 3.5 cost 100gp. In Pathfinder, all the oils should cost 50gp unless it has a material component.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Some call me Tim wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
In the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, there is a list of "always available" items and equipment that any green newbie can buy if he has the gold. That list includes potions and oils of 0- and 1st-level spells at minimum caster level. The thing is, for potions it states parenthetically "50gp or less" and for oils it says "100gp or less". If we're talking about the same level of potions and oils, shouldn't the cost the same? I looked through the CR but couldn't find anything suggesting that oils are priced differently than potions. Did I miss something? Is it a typo in the PFS Guide?

A potion you drink, an oil you apply externally, thats the only difference.

I would suggest the wording comes from wanting to allow purchase of oil of bless weapon which under 3.5 cost 100gp. A bit of a history lesson here: although it should have only cost 50gp because of changes made between 3.0 and 3.5 (Paladin caster level was 1/2 paladin level under 3.0 and became Paladin level -3 under 3.5 rules) it was still listed as 100gp.

Pardon me, coming through....someone is wrong on the internet....

Paladin caster level in in 3.5 is not paladin level -3; it is one-half paladin level starting at 4th level. This is the same as in 3e.

Some call me Tim wrote:
I think with the Pathfinder changes it should only cost 50gp. I suppose that you could buy caster level 2 oils to extend the duration and still follow the PFS rules.

The PFS rule is that the potion/oil is only available this way at minimum caster level. It isn't available at CL2.


Howie23 wrote:
The PFS rule is that the potion/oil is only available this way at minimum caster level. It isn't available at CL2.

Yep, any 0 or 1st level oils/potions purchased above minimum caster level are not "always available" and can only be bought if you meet the TPA requirement for the cost of the item.

Shadow Lodge 2/5

Howie23 wrote:

Pardon me, coming through....someone is wrong on the internet....

Paladin caster level in in 3.5 is not paladin level -3; it is one-half paladin level starting at 4th level. This is the same as in 3e.

Someone IS wrong...

"Through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, her caster level is equal to her paladin level – 3."

Last paragraph under "Spells".

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Baltic

0gre wrote:
Howie23 wrote:

Pardon me, coming through....someone is wrong on the internet....

Paladin caster level in in 3.5 is not paladin level -3; it is one-half paladin level starting at 4th level. This is the same as in 3e.

Someone IS wrong...

"Through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, her caster level is equal to her paladin level – 3."

Last paragraph under "Spells".

Howie23 is talking about two different D&D editions, neither of them pathfinder.

Shadow Lodge 2/5

Auke Teeninga wrote:
Howie23 is talking about two different D&D editions, neither of them pathfinder.

OIC. D'oh!

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
The PFS rule is that the potion/oil is only available this way at minimum caster level. It isn't available at CL2.
Yep, any 0 or 1st level oils/potions purchased above minimum caster level are not "always available" and can only be bought if you meet the TPA requirement for the cost of the item.

That's what I thought, but then why does the PFS Guide say "100gp or less"? Is it in fact a typo?


Jiggy wrote:
That's what I thought, but then why does the PFS Guide say "100gp or less"? Is it in fact a typo?

As noted above, it's a holdover from the 3.5 version of the PFS Guide. Specifically, the 3.5 potion table listed an oil of Bless Weapon for 100 gp.

Grand Lodge 2/5 RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Fantastic, thanks!

Liberty's Edge 4/5

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
The PFS rule is that the potion/oil is only available this way at minimum caster level. It isn't available at CL2.
Yep, any 0 or 1st level oils/potions purchased above minimum caster level are not "always available" and can only be bought if you meet the TPA requirement for the cost of the item.

Doesn't this fall under the same exclusion as applies to wands? Only available, no matter how much TPA/Fame you have at minimum caster level?


Callarek wrote:
Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Howie23 wrote:
The PFS rule is that the potion/oil is only available this way at minimum caster level. It isn't available at CL2.
Yep, any 0 or 1st level oils/potions purchased above minimum caster level are not "always available" and can only be bought if you meet the TPA requirement for the cost of the item.
Doesn't this fall under the same exclusion as applies to wands? Only available, no matter how much TPA/Fame you have at minimum caster level?

The Guide specifically states that the Magic Item Creation section of chapter 15 in the Core Book is what is not allowed.

Quote:


Neither the craft feats nor the item creation section
of the magic items chapter in the Pathfinder RPG Core
Rulebook are legal for play.

This is actually from page 14 of the Guide in the Feats section. There used to be another paragraph in the Guide that was more specific on this and listed the actual pages of chapter 15 that were legal and the ones that weren't, but it looks like it is no longer there.

But anyway, the item creation section begins on page 548. The standard section about potions is on pages 477-478. Included in this section is the formula for the cost of potions made above minimum caster level: The price of a potion is equal to the level of the spell × the creator’s caster level × 50 gp.

This had been brought up in the past and Josh Frost had said it was legal and did not need any extra listing in the Guide as it was not in the item creation section. The same applies to wands as well, so unless Mark and Hyrum changed it, so yes, you can buy a 5th level CLW wand or wand of Magic Missiles for 3750 gold if you have the TPA to support the purchase.

5/5

Minimum caster level only, fully charged (where applicable), unless found differently on a chronicle sheet.

Reference

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Kyle Baird wrote:

Minimum caster level only, fully charged (where applicable), unless found differently on a chronicle sheet.

Reference

In still think that was a Mistake..

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

I'm making a note of this 3.5 legacy wording and it will be corrected in the next version of the Guide.

Dark Archive

Hi Mark,

Last year Josh said that wands and scrolls could be purchased at higher caster levels (e.g. Wand of Magic Missile CL3) as long as you had enough prestige award points. Can you confirm that this is still the case?

Thanks

Liberty's Edge 4/5

MoFiddy wrote:

Hi Mark,

Last year Josh said that wands and scrolls could be purchased at higher caster levels (e.g. Wand of Magic Missile CL3) as long as you had enough prestige award points. Can you confirm that this is still the case?

Thanks

Per the link above, as of October 19, 2010, Mark Moreland's stating that Dragnmoon's post above it in the thread was correct, you are only allowed to buy wands, scrolls and wands can only be bought at minimum caster level, and fully charged, other than any listed on any of your various Chronicle Sheets, possibly, through boons available with Prestige.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/5 **

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Callarek wrote:
Per the link above, as of October 19, 2010, Mark Moreland's stating that Dragnmoon's post above it in the thread was correct

Stop blaming me!!!!! ;)

5/5

Dragnmoon wrote:
Stop blaming me!!!!! ;)

Why would we stop? It's clearly your fault 'moon.

Dark Archive

Callarek wrote:
MoFiddy wrote:

Hi Mark,

Last year Josh said that wands and scrolls could be purchased at higher caster levels (e.g. Wand of Magic Missile CL3) as long as you had enough prestige award points. Can you confirm that this is still the case?

Thanks

Per the link above, as of October 19, 2010, Mark Moreland's stating that Dragnmoon's post above it in the thread was correct, you are only allowed to buy wands, scrolls and wands can only be bought at minimum caster level, and fully charged, other than any listed on any of your various Chronicle Sheets, possibly, through boons available with Prestige.

Dragnmoon was incorrect in his post though. If you scroll down you can see Mark replying after Dragnmoon's correction. He didn't disagree with Dragnmoon's correction.

They updated the most recent guide with regard to which classes make potions, scrolls, and wands. We will see if the next update includes something about the caster level of these items.

Sorry for dragging this up again, Dragnmoon. I respect you for the assistance you provide on the boards.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / PFS: Potions vs. Oils All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society
Influence encounters in PF 2E scenarios