Spell DC as counteract modifier?


Playtest General Discussion


Tripartite Mind says to use your spell DC as your counteract modifier, is this correct, or should it use your spellcasting counteract modifier as most other feats and abilities say?


Just checked it out. Rules as written it's Spell DC. I have a feeling might be a typo. The typical modifier would be your spell attack modifier (which I'm assuming you mean by counteract modifier), not your Spell DC, which is essentially a +10 to that of a typical counteract.

But I suppose only errata could tell for sure.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If you use a DC for a check, intuitively that means you use that DC - 10 as the modifier. Just as if you use your Will as a DC, you add 10 to your Will modifier to get the DC.

In PF2e, technically your counteract modifier is not your spell attack modifier, it's your spell DC bonus, eg DC - 10. These just happen to be the same number.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Second Edition Playtest / Playtest General Discussion / Spell DC as counteract modifier? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playtest General Discussion