Only a goblin


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hello, it's a pleasure, I have a little conflict at the table. I'm reading the level advancement and character creation of the basic manual, and the part of the steps to do each thing.
A player wants to chain the feats, from 1st level, being a human warrior. Power atack, Improved Sunder and Furious Focus
This should be allowed? It causes conflict, since he selects all feats in the same step, and I think he should not count them as acquired, but the prerequisites say that he can use any that he gets during the level advance.
Reading both things is somewhat contradictory to me


I would allow that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is perfectly legal to select a prerequisite and a feat at the same level


Totally fine, as said above.

And there are much, much bigger issues to worry about in Pathfinder than a fighter picking up a few feats in rapid succession.


As others have said, it is allowed and even intended.

Say a prestige class has as its pre-requisites a given feat and say said feat can only be taken by characters of level at least 5 then a character could take said feat as the one granted to her upon reaching level 5 and start in said prestige class at the same level, making her a BasicClassA 4/PrestigeClass 1.


You have to pick a class before choosing your feats. So you have to be BasicClassA 5 before qualifying for prestige class if it requires you to have a feat you can only take at 5th level.

The Exchange

For the original question: Yes, it's legal.

Core Rulebook page 112 wrote:
A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he gains the prerequisite.

What Agenor said, though, is incorrect.

CRB page 30 wrote:
When adding new levels of an existing class or adding levels of a new class (see Multiclassing, below), make sure to take the following steps in order. First, select your new class level. You must be able to qualify for this level before any of the following adjustments are made. Second, apply any ability score increases due to gaining a level. Third, integrate all of the level’s class abilities and then roll for additional hit points. Finally, add new skills and feats.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Agénor wrote:

As others have said, it is allowed and even intended.

Say a prestige class has as its pre-requisites a given feat and say said feat can only be taken by characters of level at least 5 then a character could take said feat as the one granted to her upon reaching level 5 and start in said prestige class at the same level, making her a BasicClassA 4/PrestigeClass 1.

There's actually an order of operations for this.

First select your new class level. You must be able to qualify for this level before any of the following adjustments are made.
Second, apply any ability score increases due to gaining a level.
Third, integrate all of the level’s class abilities and then roll for additional hit points.
Finally, add new skills and feats

If you must have the feat to qualify for a prestige class, then you can't take them at the same level up.
You'd have to be classA5 first since you don't qualify for the prestige class yet during step 1


Oh, I thought class, feats and ability score increases could be done in any order.
It seems I was wrong.
- I'll keep allowing it at the tables where I stand behind the screen but I'll be aware this is homebrew -


Just because you gain multiple feats in a single level does not mean they are not gained sequentially. For the most part feats are the main class feature of a fighter. Restricting them to an artificially slower progression is needlessly handicapping them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Only a goblin All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions