What are the Signature Spell Expansion level allowances exactly?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Signature Spell Expansion says that "you gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a minimum level of 3rd or lower."

However, it can't have the listed "minimum level" and also allow for lower level selections. The conditions are contradictory.

Was this supposed to be a MAXIMUM level of 3rd or lower? Or perhaps a minimum level of 3rd or HIGHER?

Grand Lodge

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:

Signature Spell Expansion says that "you gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a minimum level of 3rd or lower."

However, it can't have the listed "minimum level" and also allow for lower level selections. The conditions are contradictory.

Was this supposed to be a MAXIMUM level of 3rd or lower? Or perhaps a minimum level of 3rd or HIGHER?

I would interpret it this way: Each spell you pick must have the minimum spell level of level 3 or lower. Minimum spell level is the lowest level spell slot the spell can be cast in. Ie, Lv 1 for magic missle, Lv 3 for fireball, Lv 6 for disintegrate, etc.

In other words you can't pick spells that are inherently Lv 4 of above.

Sczarni

3 people marked this as a favorite.

"minimum level of 3rd or lower" makes sense to me?


Agree with Nefreet. Minimum level of third or lower means the lowest level of the spell has to be first, second or third.

Maximum level of third or lower wouldn't make sense, because you can heighten any spell. Minimum level of third or higher would be the opposite and mean you could only select high level spells as signatures.

There's no contradiction.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Right. Spell attribute "minimum level", meaning the lowest level the spell is available at, has a maximum value of 3.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Doesn't seem quite so clear cut to me, but I digress. It certainly could have been more clearly worded. I'm not the first person to ask about this it would seem.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't understand why people are acting like this is normal language. minimum level but then it states the maximum level of the spell?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I believe the reason for the somewhat awkward language is that if they just said "maximum of 3rd level" then that would also rule out spells that exist at lower levels but that you learned at higher levels (say, Dispel Magic as one of your 4th level spells known). Instead, we get an awkward sentence that doesn't include an unnecessary extra restriction.

Sczarni

ExOichoThrow wrote:
I don't understand why people are acting like this is normal language. minimum level but then it states the maximum level of the spell?

How else would you word it concisely?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:
ExOichoThrow wrote:
I don't understand why people are acting like this is normal language. minimum level but then it states the maximum level of the spell?
How else would you word it concisely?

I wouldn't. I would have excluded the word "minimum" altogether and added a whole extra clarifying sentence.


OK. Can I get some example rulings on specific spells then in order to fully understand this.

Let's say I have a sorcerer that knows Feather Fall as a 1st level spell, Fly as a 4th level spell, and Phantom Steed as a 5th level spell (the level where it can air walk for one round).

So Feather Fall is a 1st level spell. Does it qualify for Signature Spell Expansion?

Fly is a 4th level spell at minimum. Does it qualify for Signature Spell Expansion?

Phantom Steed is a 2nd level spell at minimum, but I know it as a 5th level spell. Does it qualify for Signature Spell Expansion?


6 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Feather Fall, yes. Its minimum level is 3 or less.

Fly, no. Minimum level is 4, which is more than 3.

Phantom Steed, yes. The minimum level the spell exists at is 2. The level you know it at is not the restriction.


Another way this sentence could have been worded is "you gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a native level of 3rd or lower." or the more wordy option of "each of which must appear on your spell list as 3rd-level or lower spells"

But neither of those are any less open to misunderstanding than the wording that actually appears - it's just what the misunderstanding might result in that changes.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have to agree with RD here, the inclusion of the word "minimum" and the context of what's actually being said run counter to one another. It's extremely obvious that you were intended to be able to use this with "Spells 3rd level or lower" but for some reason the included that minimum word which TYPICALLY tells you that you cannot go BELOW that as the floor threshold but then the following words indicate otherwise.

This would easily be fixed by just removing the word minimum.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Hmm... Without that:

modified Signature Spell Expansion wrote:
You gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a level of 3rd or lower.

It sounds like it could only be used on spells that you know at 3rd level or lower. So that interpretation would exclude my sorcerer's Phantom Steed spell since it is known as a 5th level spell.

-------

Nope. After taking 15 minutes working on this, I can't come up with any wording that doesn't have the possibility of being misinterpreted and also doesn't take at least twice as much text to properly describe. I can describe it in a paragraph. I can describe it in a sentence that can be misunderstood. But I can't make it both short and clear.


breithauptclan wrote:

Hmm... Without that:

modified Signature Spell Expansion wrote:
You gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a level of 3rd or lower.

It sounds like it could only be used on spells that you know at 3rd level or lower. So that interpretation would exclude my sorcerer's Phantom Steed spell since it is known as a 5th level spell.

-------

Nope. After taking 15 minutes working on this, I can't come up with any wording that doesn't have the possibility of being misinterpreted and also doesn't take at least twice as much text to properly describe. I can describe it in a paragraph. I can describe it in a sentence that can be misunderstood. But I can't make it both short and clear.

How about...
modified Signature Spell Expansion wrote:
You gain two additional signature spells, each with a base lowest casting level under 4th.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

"The lowest level at which each selected spell can be cast cannot be higher than 3rd."


Zaister wrote:
"The lowest level at which each selected spell can be cast cannot be higher than 3rd."

Every time I read the original text fresh (as in, revist the thread after doing other things for a while) that's how I read it.

But then I think, "but why is the word 'minimum' there?"
Because if it read "you gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a level of 3rd or lower" the same interpretation falls out: the spell needs to be capable of being cast as a 3rd level spell or lower.


"each of which has a listed level of 3rd or lower" maybe?


mrspaghetti wrote:
"each of which has a listed level of 3rd or lower" maybe?

"Listed" and "Lowest Level Cast" are the same thing.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

This reads like someone read the ability, saw 'minimum' and 'lower' and panicked. If you just take a second to read the text though, it's fine.

Look at a spell. What's its minimum level? Is it 3? Is it less than 3? Then it's a viable choice.

Fireball for example can be cast at levels 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10. Sure enough that minimum level is less than or equal to 3 so it's a valid choice.

It's pretty straight forward.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm sure that's correct, swoosh, but it's hardly straightforward as evidenced by the existence of this thread and others like it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

No, the existence of an outlier, or even a few outliers, does not skew the average so severely as to prove the outliers aren't outliers.

It's as straightforward as it can be at the given word count. A few people stumbling over the wording is far from damning evidence.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I tend to agree with thenobledrake. It read so clearly to me that I had to read it twice to figure out why you were confused.


Draco18s wrote:
mrspaghetti wrote:
"each of which has a listed level of 3rd or lower" maybe?
"Listed" and "Lowest Level Cast" are the same thing.

Yes, it means the same thing, I'm proposing that it may be clearer as I wrote it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What if it simply said "base level" instead of "minimum level?" Would that be clearer to everyone?

Sczarni

I think Paizo went with the word that made the most sense to the most people.

Like anything else they print, there will always be someone who interprets it differently.

I mean, look at past FAQ requests from PF1. Even something as elementary as Weapon Focus was questioned.

If they changed this now, you'd spawn an entirely new crop of interpretations claiming that the change in wording was intentional and means something different.

I say leave it as is, and the next time someone else asks the question, just link them to this thread.


Ravingdork wrote:
What if it simply said "base level" instead of "minimum level?" Would that be clearer to everyone?

"minimum level" is clear that it is talking about the lowest level that a spell can be cast at.

"base level" means the same thing, but could easily be misinterpreted as meaning the level your character learned the spell at in a way that "minimum level" can't.

So no, not clearer to everyone.


thenobledrake wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
What if it simply said "base level" instead of "minimum level?" Would that be clearer to everyone?

"minimum level" is clear that it is talking about the lowest level that a spell can be cast at.

"base level" means the same thing, but could easily be misinterpreted as meaning the level your character learned the spell at in a way that "minimum level" can't.

So no, not clearer to everyone.

Minimum might also mean the lowest level your character can cast it at too...


Not according to my understanding of the word "minimum"


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think that the biggest problem is that none of these terms are actually defined in the rules. If there was simply a line in the rulebook that said:

"a spell's minimum level is the lowest level that the spell can be cast at."

Then all the ambiguity and possible misinterpretations go away. "You gain two additional signature spells, each of which must have a minimum level of 3rd or lower." It now means exactly what it is supposed to mean.


That would clear up the alleged ambiguity... but it shouldn't be necessary. The game text only needs to write out definitions it created special for game terms, not waste space spelling out the commonly used definitions of all the words that get used in the book.

That's why "level" gets defined, because otherwise a reader might apply one of the standard definitions such as what the word means in the sentence "check that your shelf is level before storing things on it." but a word like "minimum" doesn't need the game book to effectively repeat the dictionary.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / What are the Signature Spell Expansion level allowances exactly? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.