Battle Medicine question


Rules Discussion


Just a quick question I'm pretty sure I know the answer to but thought I'd post here.

Do you have to have two hands free to use Battle Medicine? You need Healer's tools to use Treat Wound and those require two hands.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
KnightofDiscord wrote:

Just a quick question I'm pretty sure I know the answer to but thought I'd post here.

Do you have to have two hands free to use Battle Medicine? You need Healer's tools to use Treat Wound and those require two hands.

By RAW, that seems to be the case. I'm not sure if that is intended based on some comments Mark made about how efficient it is compared to administering a potion or casting a spell. However, I'm probably going allow it to be done with one hand either way. My head cannon for Battle Medicine is that involves basically stabbing an ally with a syringe full of adrenaline. You can do that quite fast, but if you do it more than once per day their heart will explode.


Captain Morgan wrote:
My head cannon for Battle Medicine is that involves basically stabbing an ally with a syringe full of adrenaline. You can do that quite fast, but if you do it more than once per day their heart will explode.

This kind of quality content is why I lurk these forums.


You wouldn't happen to be able to provide links for those remarks from Mark, would you? I'd like to have a look at them myself.


Nope, Battle Medicine uses the same DC as treat wounds, and heals the same amount, but isn't that action.

So just a single action no kit required.


KnightofDiscord wrote:
You wouldn't happen to be able to provide links for those remarks from Mark, would you? I'd like to have a look at them myself.

No, I'd have to go digging through his posts from the playtest days, maybe even pre-playtest. And I'm not inclined to because on closer inspection Pirate Rob is right. Battle Medic isn't treat wounds, it just says it uses the same DCs and amounts healed as treat wounds.


Alright, that makes sense. Thanks again.


Pirate Rob wrote:

Nope, Battle Medicine uses the same DC as treat wounds, and heals the same amount, but isn't that action.

So just a single action no kit required.

Even if the action doesn't require the kit, you'd need to use the kit to get the kit's bonuses to your roll.

Verdant Wheel

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Battle Medicine question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.