[Recall Knowledge] Can this be rolled multiple times per PC?


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


I was looking in the rules and I don't see anything that says you can only roll it once, plus, it takes an Action. So does that mean a PC could roll three times in a round?


Page 338. The DC increased every time (starts at low for common monsters). You can keep rolling until you succeed at an extreme difficulty or fail.


p. 338 wrote:
After a success, further uses of Recall Knowledge can yield more information, but you should increase the difficulty each time. Once a character has attempted an extreme-difficulty check or failed a check, further attempts are fruitless.

So one fail means you can't keep rolling.


Ya, I have reservations about that. I like the idea of the wizard in the back going think! Think! Think! As the party struggles with a hydra.

It is not balanced to be able to roll until you get twenties, gaming the system. But I do like the idea on the alchemist pulling out a reagent kit on a dead aberration to figure out if it reacts to any rare metals (perfect example of taking 20?)

Maybe the best answer is to break the rule if your players are role playing well. And then if they try to game the system like that regularly, make a skill feat that breaks the rule?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / [Recall Knowledge] Can this be rolled multiple times per PC? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells
Clothing