What is the Save DC for a scroll scribed by wizard?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I have a wizard who is planning to scribe a fire ball spell on a scroll.

What caster level would the spell be at when cast from the scroll? What would the Save DC be? how would that be calculated? Thank you


ElyasRavenwood wrote:

I have a wizard who is planning to scribe a fire ball spell on a scroll.

What caster level would the spell be at when cast from the scroll? What would the Save DC be? how would that be calculated? Thank you

It's calculated at 10 plus the spell level plus the casting modifier for the MINIMUM casting attribute needed to get the spell off.

So a fireball on a scroll would be 10+3+1 for the minimum of Int/Cha 13 to get the spell off. Whether it's scribed by a wizard, sorcerer, or a Druid with the Flame domain, is irrelevant.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

For caster level, the wizard sets that when they create the scroll, up to their own caster level or down to the minimum for the spell. So for your fireball example, the caster level must be at least 5 but can be anything up to the wizard's level. Note that the price of the scroll goes up with higher caster level.


ryric wrote:
For caster level, the wizard sets that when they create the scroll, up to their own caster level or down to the minimum for the spell. So for your fireball example, the caster level must be at least 5 but can be anything up to the wizard's level. Note that the price of the scroll goes up with higher caster level.

He's asking about the save DC for the spell which is not influenced by caster level.

Silver Crusade

Read the post, he asked for both.

Silver Crusade

Thank you

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What is the Save DC for a scroll scribed by wizard? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.