Spell storing and touching yourself.


Rules Questions


Can you use the spell storing armor ability to place a beneficial touch spell and than at some point touch yourself giving yourself the benefits of that spell?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
clff rice wrote:
Can you use the spell storing armor ability to place a beneficial touch spell and than at some point touch yourself giving yourself the benefits of that spell?

You would have to spend (at least) a standard action to attack yourself, since the spell storing ability states "Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires." If you hit yourself, then in addition, the swift action to have the armor cast the spell.

If you ask your GM nicely, you'll probably be allowed to automatically hit yourself with a touch attack for no damage, but you still spend the standard + swift (or use a low iterative from a full attack + swift).


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

is a melee touch attack against yourself possible? just to like touch you? what happens if you miss?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Bandw2 wrote:
Is a melee touch attack against yourself possible? Just to like touch you?

Why not ? You certainly can attack yourself (certain results of the confusion spell demand it, but in that case no attack roll is made). There have been other threads about a barbarian with spell sunder attacking herself in an attempt to sunder a spell placed on her. A paladin can lay hands on himself. A spell caster can use touch spells on himself and/or his familiar.

However, you can't cheat the action economy. You must still spend the action.

Bandw2 wrote:
What happens if you miss?

Then you miss. More likely, you'd auto-hit, but ask your GM.


See this epic thread about touching yourself.


clff rice wrote:
Can you use the spell storing armor ability to place a beneficial touch spell and than at some point touch yourself giving yourself the benefits of that spell?

Just have you and your buddy both get spell storing armor, then slap each other when you need the buff spell:

Spell storing armor wrote:
Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires.


Gwen Smith wrote:
clff rice wrote:
Can you use the spell storing armor ability to place a beneficial touch spell and than at some point touch yourself giving yourself the benefits of that spell?

Just have you and your buddy both get spell storing armor, then slap each other when you need the buff spell:

Spell storing armor wrote:
Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires.

slap each-other to psych each-other up. I like it :P


wasn't trying to cheese action economy i just wanted to have a back up heal spell or buff and wondered if it the tactic was legal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell storing and touching yourself. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions