| _Ozy_ |
RAW does not say that you recreate a spellbook exactly the same way as you learn a spell, you're doing completely different activities. Some of the activities in each case are the same, in which case you use the rules under adding spells that apply.
There are 3 subsections under adding new spells:
Gaining at each level
Adding from written source
Research new spell
If you're copying from another spellbook, you use adding from a written source. If you already have the spell preapred, then none of those sections actually apply to the activity and you follow the specific rules in the replacing spellbooks section.
Specific trumps general, and when you have a spell prepared, it trumps the general rules regarding adding spells.
| Gauss |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Learning a spell from a spellbook takes 1 hour per level of the spell (0-level spells take 30 minutes).
If you fail to learn a spell from a spellbook or scroll, you must wait at least 1 week before you can try again.
Learn a spell from a spellbook or scroll 15 + spell level
No matter what the spell’s source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings). Next, he must spend 1 hour studying the spell. At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell’s level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from his specialty school. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.
If the check fails, the wizard cannot understand or copy the spell. He cannot attempt to learn or copy that spell again until one week has passed. If the spell was from a scroll, a failed Spellcraft check does not cause the spell to vanish.
Once a wizard understands a new spell, he can record it into his spellbook.
So, where does that leave us? The only general rules for learning a spell are from a spell that is written.
There are no general rules for learning a spell that is not from a written source.Then we have that the Replacing and Copying Spellbooks section directly references that you use the procedure for learning a spell.
Do you have anything in the Replacing and Copying Spellbooks section that provides an exception? Anything at all?
The rules are clear, you cannot write a spell down until you learn it.
Without a stated exception to the contrary, you cannot learn it unless you have a written source to study.
This really seems like a case of 'starting with and ending in mind and trying to make the rules fit'. This is appears to be an attempt to sidestep the normal process of learning a spell.
| Magic Square |
You're missing the main fact that just because a spell is on both the cleric and wizard lists doesn't mean the other can use it.
A DIVINE spell of Dispel Magic is UNUSABLE by a wizard. Likewise, an Arcane spell of Dispel Magic is unusable by a divine caster.
So if Imbue with Spell Ability can only grant divine spells, the wizard is in effect trying to put a divine spell into his spellbook.
It is entirely possible he could do so. And then he'd have a clerical prayer in his spellbook that he can't use, because he's not a divine caster.
===Aelryinth
Amen Aelryinth! Arcane is arcane, divine is divine and never the twains should mix. Unless you like headaches!
As I read Imbue with Spell Ability, the recipient temporarily gains the ability to cast the spell, not the ability to understand it. If you don't understand it, you can't scribe it into a spellbook. After all, you could imbue a spell into a troll...
Maybe this would work if the recipient were an arcane/divine multi-class, but then it would go among their divine spells. I've played under DMs in the past that rule such a character has two separate spell lists, and that they could have both the arcane and divine versions of a particular spell present. Sometimes such a spell is available at a lower level in one class than another, and this might benefit a prepared caster.
The Inner Sea Gods citation above leaves a bit out. The section goes on to say " Nethys's followers are, however, forbidden to use spells that grant spellcasting to share magic with those normally unable to cast spells or use spell-like abilities." Would Nethys want his followers to give divine spell ability to those without it?
Another related problem, the Imbue with Spell Ability spell says, "Once you cast Imbue with Spell Ability, you cannot prepare a new 4th-level spell to replace it until the recipient uses the imbued spells or is slain, or until you dismiss the Imbue with Spell Ability spell." I can easily imagine a DM interpreting "uses the imbued spells" as casting them, NOT copying into a spellbook. The imbued spell is copied into a spellbook (not used), the original Imbue with Spell Ability cannot now be dismissed, and the cleric is left with a permanent 4th level spell hole is his head.
Plotting such DM evil is fun! ;)
| Gauss |
I don't even think the Divine vs Arcane issue comes up. That is primarily a division for scrolls and how spells are designed.
This is an issue that the person with the borrowed spell has not learned (understood) the spell and has nothing with which to learn it from.
Personally, I think this makes total sense. You have a borrowed power which is gibberish in your head. You can use it but you don't understand it. However, if you saw this power written down and took the time to understand the spell in it's written form you would be able to understand it. (Try having someone walk you through a page long complex equation without using a written medium.)
| _Ozy_ |
Then we have that the Replacing and Copying Spellbooks section directly references that you use the procedure for learning a spell.Do you have anything in the Replacing and Copying Spellbooks section that provides an exception? Anything at all?
Absolutely. You have the specific rules for copying prepared spells into a spell book.
These specific rules are whole and contained. You don't need to invoke the 'learn from a written source' because you're not using a written source.
For some reason you are ignoring the very words in the Replacing and Copying spellbooks as meaningless or unimportant. Yes, you still use some information from the 'learning a spell' procedure when copying from another wizard's spellbook, and the specific costs and time for writing the spell into the book.
But the 'learning a spell from a written source' is irrelevant since you're not doing that. If replacing your spellbook was identical to the 'learn a spell' procedure, then there would be no need for those rules to even exist (though your ignoring them apparently takes this position anyways).
| Gauss |
_Ozy_, I am not ignoring the words in Replacing and Copying spellbooks, you are.
I have cited several times the rule IN that section that states you use the learning a spell rules. It doesn't state an exception.
So, you have no exception. Until you provide one you cannot write down a spell you have not learned and the only general rules for learning a spell are for learning written spells.
However, since you keep ignoring the quote and it is your game (unless PFS), do what you want.
Edit1: do you think that this is even the intent of the rules to use Imbue with Spell Ability this way?
Edit2: Do you think that a learn check is even required or is that bypassed altogether?
| _Ozy_ |
No, this has nothing to do with Imbue Spell Ability. That doesn't work because of the divine/arcane barrier, though it of course would allow our wizard to scribe a divine scroll. Furthermore, it's not clear when Imbue Spell Ability says:
You transfer some of your currently prepared spells, and the ability to cast them, to another creature.
that it means the recipient has a truly 'prepared spell' since you cast prepared spells using spell slots, and the recipient doesn't have any actual divine spell slots.
A learn check is required to learn a spell from a written source, that's right in the rules. Since a prepared spell isn't a written source, those rules do not apply. There are no rules in the section you point at that describe how to 'learn' spells from a non-written source, therefore clearly those particular rules are not what they are referring to when they say it follows the learn a spell procedure.
These are the words you are ignoring:
If he already has a particular spell prepared, he can write it directly into a new book at the same cost required to write a spell into a spellbook. The process wipes the prepared spell from his mind, just as casting it would.
Those are specific rules governing the situation. Just what do you think the word 'directly' means in that situation? And what is required to do that? The previous phrase identifies it: 'If he already has a particular spell prepared'.
Clearly, already having a spell prepared trumps the process of learning and copying a spell from someone elses spellbook. Frankly, I can't see how it gets any more clear than that.
A learn check is needed to decipher the writing in another person's spellbook. If you already have the spell prepared, you comprehend it well enough to 1) scribe a scroll, or 2) write it in your spellbook.
| Gauss |
No, this has nothing to do with Imbue Spell Ability. That doesn't work because of the divine/arcane barrier, though it of course would allow our wizard to scribe a divine scroll. Furthermore, it's not clear when Imbue Spell Ability says:
Quote:You transfer some of your currently prepared spells, and the ability to cast them, to another creature.that it means the recipient has a truly 'prepared spell' since you cast prepared spells using spell slots, and the recipient doesn't have any actual divine spell slots.
A learn check is required to learn a spell from a written source, that's right in the rules. Since a prepared spell isn't a written source, those rules do not apply. There are no rules in the section you point at that describe how to 'learn' spells from a non-written source, therefore clearly those particular rules are not what they are referring to when they say it follows the learn a spell procedure.
These are the words you are ignoring:
Quote:If he already has a particular spell prepared, he can write it directly into a new book at the same cost required to write a spell into a spellbook. The process wipes the prepared spell from his mind, just as casting it would.Those are specific rules governing the situation. Just what do you think the word 'directly' means in that situation? And what is required to do that? The previous phrase identifies it: 'If he already has a particular spell prepared'.
Clearly, already having a spell prepared trumps the process of learning and copying a spell from someone elses spellbook. Frankly, I can't see how it gets any more clear than that.
A learn check is needed to decipher the writing in another person's spellbook. If you already have the spell prepared, you comprehend it well enough to 1) scribe a scroll, or 2) write it in your spellbook.
I think I see your problem. You are glossing over the rule regarding you having learned the spell in order to write it into your book. The recreating a spellbook section does not provide an exception to get around this.
Having a spell prepared does NOT trump the rules especially when the rules for writing down a prepared spell specifically call out the section stating you must have understood (learned) the spell.
For an exception to be provided it must state it is. You are treating it as an exception without it being stated as one.
Until you show an exception (which you have failed to do) you cannot prove your case.
In any case, until someone comes in with something different to say I think you and I are at an impasse.
| Gauss |
Except that is not an exception to the fact that you must have learned the spell.
It is an exception to the source of the spell to be copied.
You have repeatedly shown an exception that is an exception to the wrong thing.
Lets put this another way:
1) It lists that it follows the rules of learning a spell.
2) It lists an alternate method for providing the spell to be copied.
1 has no exception, 2 has an exception. Until you provide for #1 then what you are attempting does not work.
Declaring that it is 'self contained' does not work either because it is not self contained. It specifically references rules outside of itself. Thus it violates the very definition of 'self contained'.
Pathfinder has specific exceptions. Until you provide an exception to the fact that you must have learned the spell you have failed to prove your case.
And to put it in your phrasing: The words tell you explicitly that it follows the rules for learning a spell. Then it explicitly tells you of an alternate means for copying a spell. Those are two separate (but related) rules.
| Gauss |
Your argument is circular and irrational. A method has been found to prepare a spell you have not understood (learned). Thus, you have not understood (learned) it.
Nowhere in the rules does it state that having prepared the spell via Imbue with Spell Ability means you have understood (learned) the spell. Please show us where it means this.
Note: finding that you must learn a spell before preparing it is not the same thing as preparing it = learning it.
Your arguments thus far have been:
1) The section on Replacing and Copying Spellbooks is self-contained.
This argument has been shown to be false because the section on Replacing and Copying Spellbooks references rules outside of it's section thus showing it is not self-contained.
2) That to prepare a spell you must already understand it.
This argument is circular and is clearly not true in all cases. There is at least one method of preparing a spell (Imbue with Spell Ability) which do not require you to have learned/understood the spell.
| _Ozy_ |
I don't think a spell gained by Imbue with Spell Ability is 'prepared'.
1) No, I didn't say the entire section was self-contained. In fact, replacing your spellbook by copying someone else's does refer back to the 'adding new spells' section with regard to learning from another wizard's spellbook. The part that is self-contained is the if-then statement which says:
If he already has a particular spell prepared, he can write it directly into a new book at the same cost required to write a spell into a spellbook.
That is entirely self-contained, with no room for further caveats. If other caveats exist, then that statement is false. You can't have it both ways.
2) Imbue with Spell ability does not say that the spell gained is 'prepared' by the recipient. In fact, it is not prepared, because prepared spells are cast using spell slots which are not granted via Imbue with Spell Ability. All that is transferred is the spell and the ability to cast it.
| Gauss |
_Ozy_, why have you been debating Imbue with Spell Ability (IwSA) this entire time if you don't even think it is prepared?
The ONLY thing that is being debated in this thread is the effects of Imbue with Spell Ability and writing into your spellbook a spell granted by IwSA.
My stance:
IwSA does not allow you to sidestep the 'learned spell' requirement when writing a prepared spell into a spellbook.
Your stance (as perceived until your last post):
The writing a prepared spell into a spellbook clause allows you to sidestep the learned spell requirement thus allowing you to use IwSA to write a prepared spell into a spellbook.
Your stance (as perceived via the last post):
IwSA is not prepared so you cannot write it into a spellbook.
Which of your stances (if either) is correct?
Why have you been arguing for IwSA writing into a spellbook if stance 2 is correct?
Note: if your stance #2 is correct, then we have been debating for nothing. I am not aware of any other method of granting a prepared spell (that is not learned) to a person in which case (by your second stance) there is no method for having a prepared spell that is not already learned.
| _Ozy_ |
Evaded it? I directly answered it more than once. IwSA doesn't work for two reasons. 1 it's for divine spells, 2 I don't believe IwSA actually provides a 'prepared' spell to the recipient, just the ability to cast the transferred spell.
The reason I'm talking about the magus ability is because that actually does provide prepared spells, according to RAW, and I'm interested in the issue.
| Gauss |
Your response to my last post was: "Gauss, the level 7 magus ability. There might be other methods as well that I'm not aware of, or future abilities." so, no, you did not answer the questions in my last post.
If you will actually read my last post I was asking which stance was correct and I was trying to figure out why you have been arguing in favor of IwSA doing this.
Ok, so we have now established that for other reasons than the ones I have been discussing you do not believe IwSA works. We can now move on to your issue, the Magus ability.
Knowledge Pool (Su): At 7th level, when a magus prepares his magus spells, he can decide to expend 1 or more points from his arcane pool, up to his Intelligence bonus. For each point he expends, he can treat any one spell from the magus spell list as if it were in his spellbook and can prepare that spell as normal that day. If he does not cast spells prepared in this way before the next time he prepares spells, he loses those spells. He can also cast spells added in this way using his spell recall ability, but only until he prepares spells again.
Ok, one simple question, do you believe it is the intent of the Devs to allow a Magus to learn learn every magus spell in existence for FREE just by spending arcane pool points?
| Jayder22 |
Ok, one simple question, do you believe it is the intent of the Devs to allow a Magus to learn learn every magus spell in existence for FREE just by spending arcane pool points?
Maybe I am reading this wrong, but if he were to use the rules as outlined under writing a prepared spell to his spellbook in the magic section, it would not be free. It specifically calls out that scribing costs are still required.
If by free you are ignoring the scribing costs and referencing
In most cases, wizards charge a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks. This fee is usually equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook
If the ability works that way (not saying it does though I would be inclined to allow it) the Magus is saving 50% cost at most, sometimes less (wizard doesn't always pay that cost, finds spellbooks on enemies etc)
| Gauss |
I thought I was pretty clear. I did not state 'write every magus spell in existence for free' I stated 'learn every magus spell in existence for free'. Ie. free = you do not have to purchase the spell like normal.
Also, you do not have to find access to the spell like normal. Many GMs control when/where people can buy spells, such as towns etc, this would bypass that entirely.
Your statement of 'finding spellbooks on enemies' is completely irrelevant. A spellbook on enemies has a monetary value equal to the cost to purchase the spells and scribe them plus the cost of the book itself. Ie: not free. It is treasure as much as a +1 sword is.
So now that we understand my question, how about answering it. Do you believe it is the Devs intent to bypass the cost to purchase spells?
| Jayder22 |
I thought I was pretty clear. I did not state 'write every magus spell in existence for free' I stated 'learn every magus spell in existence for free'. Ie. free = you do not have to purchase the spell like normal.
If when you said learn you didn't mean scribe into the spellbook, than I apologize that is what it seemed you meant.
Also, you do not have to find access to the spell like normal. Many GMs control when/where people can buy spells, such as towns etc, this would bypass that entirely.
I do see how this would bypass the Magus needing to be in a town of sufficient size, wizard to learn from etc. This ability already allows the Magus to do exactly that, gain access to any spell regardless of where he is. The question seems to revolve around if they can scribe it in permanently after it is prepared.
Your statement of 'finding spellbooks on enemies' is completely irrelevant. A spellbook on enemies has a monetary value equal to the cost to purchase the spells and scribe them plus the cost of the book itself. Ie: not free. It is treasure as much as a +1 sword is.
Once again I think maybe I was just unclear. If a Wizard/Magus finds a spellbook on an enemy, he gets to add any spells he finds in it (assuming correct spell list, passed spellcraft check, and ink costs) into his own spellbook, without using up the enemy spellbook, which can be sold after using the formula you mentioned. The reason I brought it up, was to illustrate that the Wizard/Magus doesn't always spend the additional 50% to gain access to a spell, sometimes he gets it free while adventuring.
So now that we understand my question, how about answering it. Do you believe it is the Devs intent to bypass the cost to purchase spells?
I didn't answer this earlier because your question seemed directed at someone else, but I will give my opinion now.
I don't know. Maybe they did, maybe it is an unintended consequence of this ability, and maybe this ability doesn't allow it to work. I mentioned earlier I wasn't positive, but I would be inclined to allow it.
| Gauss |
There are several components to putting a spell in a spellbook. Two of them are learning and scribing. These are two different steps to the rules and to learn a spell you must first purchase access.
Yes, they can temporarily gain access to a spell...for a cost. This completely bypasses even that.
Finding a spellbook on an enemy is similar to purchasing spells. Finding spellbook = money the GM gave you (ie, money he is not giving you otherwise because of treasure limits).
Purchasing spells = money you spent (ie, money you are not spending on other things because of treasure limits).
See how they are similar?
Finding a spellbook on an enemy is similar to finding a wizard to buy spells from.
Finding spellbook = GM has given you the 'wizard' in the form of a book.
Finding wizard = GM has allowed you to find a wizard to buy spells from.
Again, this ability if interpreted this way removes the cost of purchasing spells and the GM control over you finding the spells.
However, you are correct, my initial question was to _Ozy_ but since you answered the rest of my post I figured you should answer that question too. :)
| Shaddock |
To answer the OP: it is of my opinion that it should not be possible for a Wizard to learn a Sorcerer's spell, and in my campaign I wouldn't allow it. I believe that even though a wizard, sorcerer, and cleric may indeed have the same spell, they gain, learn, and use them in different ways. The Cleric gets his from his god. The wizard gets his from his spellbook (or scroll etc.) The sorcerer from his innate ability. The end result is the same, a spell, but it's HOW they get there that' different.
For example: a right angle.
I know it's 90deg's just by looking at it (sorcerers innate ability).
The teacher said so (cleric's god gave him the info).
The wizard will do the math (his spellbook or scroll).
All three get the end result, but they at it in very different ways.
Hope I'm clear here.
| Jayder22 |
Eh, I was halfway through a longer post asking how you would value a spellbook to your party if you were gming... but I just don't care enough about this subject lol
I will say, as a GM, I don't think it is that overpowering and would probably allow it. It saves the Magus a bit on gold (not crazy much though) while getting him to prepare spells that he might otherwise not.
As a player, I would ask my GM before taking the ability, and if he ruled against it working, I would probably pick something else.
For PFS, I would stay away from it unless it was ruled officially one way or the other as I do see how it could be read both ways. I can get most of the spells I would use on an average day without spending too much, this would just be fun to play around with.
| kestral287 |
Except of course for this:
Quote:Knowledge Pool (Su)
At 7th level, when a magus prepares his magus spells, he can decide to expend 1 or more points from his arcane pool, up to his Intelligence bonus. For each point he expends, he can treat any one spell from the magus spell list as if it were in his spellbook and can prepare that spell as normal that day. If he does not cast spells prepared in this way before the next time he prepares spells, he loses those spells. He can also cast spells added in this way using his spell recall ability, but only until he prepares spells again.
So clearly there are specific exceptions to the general rules you quoted. And that's the whole point. A wizard will almost never have a spell prepared that wasn't already 'learned' by the usual methods. Quoting one line is fine when it covers the entirety of the governing rules.
Yes, some of the replacing spell book rules duplicate the learning spells rules, such as the costs for writing in the spell book.
Knowledge Pool sits outside Gauss' argument since Pool states that the Magus treats it like it's in his spellbook. Gauss has specifically said that if you prepare a spell from a book you can write it down in your book; Knowledge Pool fits the bill because it's treated like it came from your book.
Gauss' contention boils down to three points. The spell must:
1. Have come from your book
2. Have been prepared by you
3. Be understood by you
Knowledge Pool violates all three, but it explicitly considers itself to be accepted by them via this line: "he can treat any one spell from the magus spell list as if it were in his spellbook and can prepare that spell as normal that day"
That's a pretty clear statement.
All of that said, there are two major issues with Imbue. The debate's largely moved on from it, it seems, but just to call them out:
-Prepared vs. Spontaneous: A Sorcerer has no prepared spells. How can he ever use Imbue With Spell Ability, which specifically calls out "some of your prepared spells"
-Arcane vs. Divine: Copying a divine spell into an arcane book is useless, so this doesn't help Cleric-to-Wizard transfers
So at best, you use it for Wizard/Wizard shenanigans. Why are we not just sharing books?
| _Ozy_ |
_Ozy_, again, you didn't answer my question that I directly put to you.
Again: Do you feel that the Devs intended that Magus can ignore the cost of learning (not writing) spells and the GM control over how a level 7+ Magus acquires spells?
Dude, what do you think the word 'yup' means? Yes, absolutely, of course. The devs aren't dumb. At the very least, the magus can scribe a scoll and learn it from there at the cost of a feat and scribing the scroll, but given the way the ability is written even that is not necessary.
They can write their gained spells right into their spellbook. Heck, it should even satisfy you since the ability says specifically that the prepared spell is treated as if it already exists in their spellbook which means that it is learned and understood by any metric.
Yes, I get that you don't like the implications of the ability, but arguing via consequence has no impact on RAW.
| kestral287 |
_Ozy_, again, you didn't answer my question that I directly put to you.
Again: Do you feel that the Devs intended that Magus can ignore the cost of learning (not writing) spells and the GM control over how a level 7+ Magus acquires spells?
... I'm actually relatively certain I've seen a dev post to that effect saying yes. If we really care I can go digging.
Regardless Gauss... I'm curious as to what your issue is with the RAW of Knowledge Pool for more spells? I agree with you, for the most part, regarding the idea of needing to have actually prepared the spell yourself to write it down in a book via the new-spellbook rules, but Pool takes care of that. That's the only line of interference to Knowledge Pool I've gotten from your posts, rules-wise.