Recharge or Discard? Rules Question


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


It's my understanding that when you acquire Boons during your turn you bring them into your hand, which means at times you have a larger hand size than is allowed by your character. During the last reset phase you would then discard down to the appropriate number of cards. My questions is this, can you use the recharge ability checks when discarding a card during the reset? I know you obviously can use the recharge when using the card for it's ability, but what about during reset? Thanks.


Nope. In order to use the recharge ability of a card you must be playing the card as intended for the text on the card. If you are choosing to discard the card as part of damage, a reset, or character power that says to discard a card to gain X then the card is discarded.

Not that some items have card text (such as magic armor) that specifically say you may recharge the card rather than discard as part of a reset of your hand.

Dark Archive

I'm going to assume that you also can't play cards at non-relevant times, in order to recharge them and avoid a discard at the reset phase. For example, Seoni explores a site, gets a boon and then plays invisibility (or whatever spell) to recharge it and get her hand down to 6.

Liberty's Edge

It was said somewhere else in the forums that you cannot do that

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Recharge or Discard? Rules Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.