| Monkplayer |
Dazed
The creature is unable to act normally. A dazed creature can take no actions, but has no penalty to AC.
A dazed condition typically lasts 1 round.
Drowning
Any character can hold her breath for a number of rounds equal to twice her Constitution score. If a character takes a standard or full-round action, the remaining duration that the character can hold her breath is reduced by 1 round. After this period of time, the character must make a DC 10Constitution check every round in order to continue holding her breath. Each round, the DC increases by 1.
When the character finally fails her Constitution check, she begins to drown. In the first round, she falls unconscious (0 hp). In the following round, she drops to –1 hit points and is dying. In the third round, she drowns.
Unconscious characters must begin making Constitution checks immediately upon being submerged (or upon becoming unconscious if the character was conscious when submerged). Once she fails one of these checks, she immediately drops to –1 (or loses 1 additional hit point, if her total is below –1). On the following round, she drowns.
It is possible to drown in substances other than water, such as sand, quicksand, fine dust, and silos full of grain.
QUESTION:
If a PC is in rough water (DC 15 swim check) and dazed (on monsters turn) for 1 round. When it becomes their turn and are dazed do they start drowning? The next turn (second turn) though they would now be un-dazed unless of course the monster re-dazes them.
ryric
RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32
|
Heck, looking at the Swim skill, it doesn't take an action to stay afloat, just to move around. So a dazed character can still make swim checks to keep their head above water, they just can't move around. If they were already underwater when dazed, they would not be able to move back to the surface and would have to hold their breath, but that also doesn't require an action so dazed would not affect that at all.
| Claxon |
Nah, you definitely wouldn't start drowning immeadiately. At worst you might have to hold your breath, but you can do so for rounds equal to your con score while taking actions. If you're dazed you might sink into the water a bit, but there aren't any actual rules for how far you sink in water if you can't move or float. Again, at worst I wuold say 5ft per round. But you're only dazed, so you'd probably be allowed to make the check to float because you aren't stunned or unconcious and the check isn't an action.