|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Currently, there is a debate going on in our small center of the universe. Some players feel that it is legitimate to apply Burnt Offerings chronicle played home game with no PFS restrictions to level 3 PFS characters as a player (I know there are different rules for applying credit as a GM). However the 'rules' clearly state two points as follows:
1) "Alternatively, if you are participating in the Rise of the Runelords Adventure Path with an ongoing group undertaking the entire, six-chapter campaign, you may receive credit for playing the sanctioned portions of the adventure as if you had played a pre-generated character."
2) "A player who uses a pre-generated character must hold the Chronicle sheet until his character reaches the level of the pre-generated character."
Thus, as if you had played a pregen (level 4) followed by pregenerated character must hold the chronicle sheet until his character reaches the level of the pregenerated character (level 4).
Obviously, this is RAW (Rules as Written), which any lawyer would win with the available evidence as it cannot be applied until level 4.
So where in the RAI (Rules as Intended) are people pulling out of their butts that a player can apply a chronicle for credit to a level 3 character (I know a GM can)? Other than the ethical idiom of what's good for the goose is good for the gander. However, if we take that idiom then players should be able to apply their 4 pregen from any scenario to any level 2 and 3 characters. Enough rant, can we get a Paizo official ruling on this?
|
Currently, there is a debate going on in our small center of the universe. Some players feel that it is legitimate to apply Burnt Offerings chronicle played home game with no PFS restrictions to level 3 PFS characters as a player (I know there are different rules for applying credit as a GM). However the 'rules' clearly state two points as follows:
1) "Alternatively, if you are participating in the Rise of the Runelords Adventure Path with an ongoing group undertaking the entire, six-chapter campaign, you may receive credit for playing the sanctioned portions of the adventure as if you had played a pre-generated character."
2) "A player who uses a pre-generated character must hold the Chronicle sheet until his character reaches the level of the pre-generated character."
Thus, as if you had played a pregen (level 4) followed by pregenerated character must hold the chronicle sheet until his character reaches the level of the pregenerated character (level 4).
Obviously, this is RAW (Rules as Written), which any lawyer would win with the available evidence as it cannot be applied until level 4.
So where in the RAI (Rules as Intended) are people pulling out of their butts that a player can apply a chronicle for credit to a level 3 character (I know a GM can)? Other than the ethical idiom of what's good for the goose is good for the gander. However, if we take that idiom then players should be able to apply their 4 pregen from any scenario to any level 2 and 3 characters. Enough rant, can we get a Paizo official ruling on this?
Looking at the sources myself, I'm pretty sure you are correct. However, you'll probably get better answers if you ask in the PFS forums/flag this thread to be moved.
|
|
Actually I feel this argument is just wrong. I think treating the "as if you'd play a pre made" clause should go to the level of the character you ACTUALLY played in burnt offerings, 3-5.
As an example against this you CAN get credit for the 8-10 (third) in the series. The only valid premades are levels 1,4, and 7. It would be nice for an official clarification though, or say to treat this essentially like GM credit.
That said, I am extremely grateful to the PFS coordinators deciding that my home game is allowing me credit on a PFS character.
|
|