
Azure_Zero |

The tiefling was in Bestiary I first.
The Advanced Race Guide and Blood of Fiends presents the same thing, but with more options and gives stuff that is race specific.
And the Advanced Race Guide and Blood of Fiends provides have options the other does not have.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

CRobledo wrote:(and note Bestiary 1 is part of the Core Assumption, so you can get a printout from the Paizo PRD)False.
Bestiary 1 is NOT part of the PLAYER core assumption. Judges and players have different core assumptions, and can thus use the PRD at different levels.
Correct. Therefore the PRD should be acceptable.
Remember that the requirement to bring the material to the table is NOT to prove ownership of any book, but to provide the GM with all relevant text in case of questions.
Since vanilla Tiefling is in the Beastiary I, AND the Beastiary I is part of the GM core assumption, ergo, he should have no problems. Both GM and player have what they need to run it.

![]() |
I have a friend starting a new tiefling. It is not based on a boon. Therefore, he needs to have a copy of ARG in order to do this, correct? Or would Bestiary I still suffice?
You need the book for whatever mechanics your friend wants to use. If he just wants the tiefling the bestiary will suffice. If he wants to use anything out of ARG or Blood of Fiends, he'll need those books.

hustonj |
But the player is required to provide campaign legal references from HIS SEAT and HIS core assumption for the judge, not from the judge's core assumption.
The difference is not irrelevant.
The player has to own a legal copy of source material for what he is using if it comes from outside of the PLAYER core assumption.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Bu tthe player is required ot provide campaign legal references from HIS SEAT and HIS core assumption for the judge, not from the judge's core assumption.
The difference is not irrelevant.
The player has to won a legal copy of source material for what he is using if it comes from outside of the PLAYER core assumption.
I have to agree with hustonj on this one. As a GM, you can use the PRD for most of your core assumption (those items beyond the CRB and Bestiary), but the PRD is not a viable source for players to use.
The player still needs to have the product or print out from the product to use something from the Additional Resources.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

But the player is required to provide campaign legal references from HIS SEAT and HIS core assumption for the judge, not from the judge's core assumption.
The difference is not irrelevant.
The player has to own a legal copy of source material for what he is using if it comes from outside of the PLAYER core assumption.
This is correct.
The PRD is only legal for GMs preparing for a Scenario and is not a legal source for Players.

![]() ![]() |

Point the first: The PRD is very rarely going to be more up to date, if my understanding is correct. The PRD/pdf are not updated except when there is a new print run. Therefore the pdf should always be up to date at the same time as the PRD. Hell the PRD is usually, from my experience, the last thing to be brought up to date.
Point the second: Lets face it, PFS is a marketing tool. I say this as a positive thing. The fact is it is first and foremost a mechanism to get us to buy books, and you know what that is okay. However if we can use materials we do not own then we are less likely to buy the material for ourselves.
That is why a printout of a pdf, that is watermarked and shows the watermark, is allowable. All of this is my understanding and conjecture, but I believe it and it would take a lot to convince me otherwise.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

If a mate of mine wants to play PFS and wants to use my PDFs, could he use my print outs? Or would he need to create a character in my account to share my PDFs?
Also, does this rule apply to summoning and polymorph spells? Does a player who casts alter self or summon monster 1 need to provide the stats of the form he is taking or the monster he is summoning?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Mark has stated several times that the name doesn't have to be yours at the top, just as long as it is a watermarked pdf print out. I wouldn't show off a pdf that isn't yours on your device, as that's piracy, but a print out that a friend gave you is good.
Summoning and polymorph spells are where it gets tricky in my mind. I would say you certainly should have it ready before you even start casting the spell. Its on your shoulders to know what you're doing, and you are using it from a non-player core assumption. I'd rule yes you need it. Now, if someone else comes along and shows evidence to contradict me, I'll gladly review it and alter my view point should it be required.